For nearly a century, the IEEE Awards program has paid tribute to technical professionals whose exceptional achievements and outstanding contributions have made a lasting impact on engineering, science, and technology.  This tradition of public recognition continues today.  In the 21st century, IEEE Awards are valued as one of the highest honors a technical professional can receive.  They are an esteemed symbol of the admiration of one’s peers and bestowed upon individuals whose accomplishments have enhanced the global economy while improving the quality of daily life.

IEEE Awards recognize and encourage important contributions to science and technology.  They honor achievements in education, industry, research, and service, and encompass the breadth of the many IEEE technical interest areas from computer science, electrical engineering, information technology, and microelectronics to optoelectronics, radar technologies, signal processing, and beyond.  Each award has a unique mission and criteria, offering the opportunity to honor distinguished colleagues, inspiring teachers, and corporate leaders.

Through the Awards program, the IEEE, and the Societies that preceded it, have played an important role in encouraging innovation.  Individuals honored with IEEE Awards join a remarkable group of well-known pioneers such as Bell, Edison, Marconi, Noyce, and Grove – among many others.  In turn, these individuals inspire and are personal role models for aspiring professionals.

There are various prestigious awards in the field of power electronics that aim at students and young engineers or honor experienced engineers for their achievements or for their service in supporting the welfare of PELS and the power electronics community.  For details about each award and how to nominate or apply, please refer to the descriptions accessible through the menu on this page.  PELS will appreciate receiving your nomination or application.

Andreas Lindermann 2022 Portrait
Awards Chair

Universitaet Magdeburg (Germany)