| IEEE Xplore Digital Library | IEEE Standards | IEEE Spectrum | More Sites

Vehicle and Transportation Systems Achievement Award

IEEE PELS Vehicle and Transportation Systems Achievement Award

About the Award

The IEEE PELS Vehicle and Transportation Systems Achievement Award recognizes innovators and researchers who have made outstanding technical contributions to the advancement of power electronics in-vehicle and transportation systems.

Award Prize:

  • A plaque
  • An honorarium of 1,500 USD
  • Reimbursement of up to 1,000 USD towards the recipient’s necessary conference registration, travel, and accommodation costs incurred to attend the award ceremony

Submitting a Nominee

When submitting a nominee, you will be asked to log into your existing IEEE account (or register for a new one) to identify as a nominator. Subsequently, select the IEEE PELS Vehicle and Transportation Systems Achievement Award and enter the required data and documents. 

***Please note: An up to five-page curriculum vitae of the nominee is required along with up to two reference letters that contain the following: endorser’s name, title, contact data, main field of interest, and signature, the nominee’s achievements, the relationship between the endorser and nominee, and the reason why the endorser personally recommends the nominee.***

The portal to submit a nomination is now closed.

Award Details

Recognizing Outstanding Achievements

Chunting Chris Mi
2023 Honoree:

Chunting Chris Mi

For contributions to the advancement of battery management systems and of electric vehicle charging

Chris Mi received his B.S. and M.S. degrees from Northwestern Polytechnical University, Xi’an, China, and Ph. D. from the University of Toronto, Canada, in 1985, 1988, and 2001, respectively, all in electrical engineering. He is a Fellow of IEEE and SAE, and a Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at San Diego State University. He was previously a faculty member at the University of Michigan-Dearborn from 2001 to 2015, and an Electrical Engineer with General Electric from 2000 to 2001. He also served as the CTO of 1Power Solutions from 2008 to 2011, and CTO of EV Safe Charger from 2021 to 2022. 

Dr. Mi has published five books, 210 journal papers, 130 conference papers, and owns 20 patents. He served as Area Editor, Guest-Editor-in-Chief, and Associate Editor of multiple IEEE Transactions, as well as the General Chair or Program Chair multiple IEEE international conferences. Dr. Mi has won numerous awards, including the “Distinguished Teaching Award” and “Distinguished Research Award” from the University of Michigan-Dearborn, IEEE Region 4 “Outstanding Engineer Award,” IEEE Southeastern Michigan Section “Outstanding Professional Award,” and SAE “Environmental Excellence in Transportation (E2T) Award.” He is the recipient of three Best Paper Awards from IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics and the 2019 Inaugural IEEE Power Electronics Emerging Technology Award. In 2022, he received the Albert W. Johnson Award and was named the Distinguished Professor by San Diego State University, the highest honor given to a SDSU faculty member and only one award is given each year.

Eligibility Requirements & Criteria

Eligibility: Any active IEEE members are eligible for this award. There are no other restrictions as to affiliation, age, gender, IEEE member grade, or nationality.

Criteria: Judgment of the nominees is based on the following:

  • Advancement of the technology
  • Benefit to the Society
  • Past relevant activities to the field and PELS TC 4
  • Sustained impact on PELS TC 4 and the profession
  • The quality of the nomination
  • The quality of the technical achievement and contribution to the field

Past Recipients

Year Recipient Name
2022 Alireza Khaligh
2021 G. Abas Goodarzi 
2020 Burak Ozpineci
2019 Kaushik Rajashekara


Please send any questions to the PELS Awards Committee.