| IEEE Xplore Digital Library | IEEE Standards | IEEE Spectrum | More Sites

2024 IEEE Newell Power Electronics Award Winner: David J. Perreault

Share this Article:

David J. Perreault

Congratulations to IEEE PELS Member David J. Perreault who received the 2024 IEEE William E. Newell Power Electronics Award!

For contributions to the development of very-high-frequency power converters

David Perreault received the B.S. degree from Boston University in 1989, and the S.M. and Ph.D. degrees from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), in 1991 and 1997, respectively.  In 1997, he joined the MIT Laboratory for Electromagnetic and Electronic Systems as a Postdoctoral Associate and became a Research Scientist in the laboratory in 1999.  Currently, he is a Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at MIT.  He has held multiple roles within the EECS department, most recently as Associate Department Head from November 2013 – December 2016.

Dr. Perreault’s research interests include design, manufacturing, and control techniques for power electronic systems and components, and their use in a wide range of applications. He also consults in industry, and co-founded Eta Devices, inc. (acquired by Nokia in 2016) and Eta Wireless, inc., startup companies focusing on power management for high-efficiency RF power amplifiers. Dr. Perreault is a fellow of the IEEE. He has received the Richard M. Bass Outstanding Young Power Electronics Engineer Award, the R. David Middlebrook Achievement Award, the ONR Young Investigator Award, and the SAE Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award, and is co-author of ten IEEE prize papers.

Explore More

Latest News