| IEEE Xplore Digital Library | IEEE Standards | IEEE Spectrum | More Sites

Richard M. Bass Outstanding Young Power Electronics Engineer Award

Richard M. Bass Outstanding Young Power Electronics Engineer Award

About the Award

The Richard M. Bass Outstanding Young Power Electronics Engineer Award recognizes outstanding achievement in the power electronics field by an engineer under 35 years of age. Since 1999, it has been dedicated to the memory of Richard M. Bass of the Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta, Georgia, USA.

Award Prize:

  • Plaque
  • An honorarium of USD 1,500
  • Reimbursement of up to USD 1,000 towards the recipient’s necessary conference registration, travel, and accommodation costs incurred to attend the award ceremony
Richard M Bass
Richard M. Bass
1959 - 1999

Submitting a Nominee

When submitting a nominee, you will be asked to log into your existing IEEE account (or register for a new one) to identify as a nominator. Subsequently, select the Richard M. Bass Outstanding Young Power Electronics Engineer Award and enter the required data.

The portal to submit a nomination is now closed.

Award Details

Recognizing Outstanding Achievements

Minjie Chen
2023 Honoree:

Minjie Chen

For contributions to the modeling, design and application of high-performance power electronic systems

Minjie Chen is an Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and the Andlinger Center for Energy and the Environment at Princeton University. He received his S.M., E.E., and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from MIT in 2015 and his B.S. in Electrical Engineering from Tsinghua University in 2009. His research interests include high-frequency power electronics, power architecture, power magnetics, advanced packaging, data-driven methods, design automation, and design methods of high-performance power electronics for emerging and important applications.

Prof. Chen is a recipient of the IEEE PELS Richard M. Bass Outstanding Young Power Electronics Engineer Award, the Princeton SEAS E. Lawrence Keyes, Jr./Emerson Electric Co. Junior Faculty Award, the NSF CAREER Award, five IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics Prize Paper Awards, a COMPEL Best Paper Award, an ICRA Best Poster Award, three ECCE Best Demo Awards, a 3D-PEIM Rao R. Tummala Best Paper Award, an OCP Best Paper Award, a Siebel research award, a research award, a First Place Award of Princeton Keller Center Innovation Forum, and the MIT EECS D. N. Chorafas Ph.D. Thesis Award. He was listed on the Princeton Engineering Commendation List for Outstanding Teaching multiple times. Dr. Chen is an IEEE senior member, the Vice Chair of PELS TC10 Design Methodologies, and the TPC member of a few flagship PELS conferences including APEC, ECCE, COMPEL, and ICDCM. His research team developed the MagNet database, built the MagNet-AI platform, launched the MagNet Challenge, and is leading the open-source MagNet community.

Eligibility Requirements & Criteria

Eligibility: All IEEE members of any grade who are active in the field of power electronics and less than 35 years of age as of 1 January of the year of the award are eligible. There is no restriction on affiliation, age, gender, IEEE member grade, or nationality.

Criteria: Candidates are judged based on the following criteria:

  • Outstanding contributions encompassing a broad range of activities, including innovative product design, project management, research, and teaching
  • Outstanding contributions in the multidisciplinary field of power electronics
  • The technical disciplines that encompass the field of power electronics, including the analysis, design, development, simulation, and application of electronic devices, magnetics, controls and power circuits for inverters, converters, and motor drives ranging in power levels from fractions of a watt to megawatts

Past Recipients

Year Recipient Name
2023 Minjie Chen
2022 Daniel Costinett
2021 Yongheng Yang
2020 Pradeep Shenoy
2019 Katherine Kim
2018 Xiongfei Wang
2017 Ali Davoudi
2016 Huai Wang
2015 Zixin Li
2014 Robert Pilawa-Podgurski
2013 Yunwei (Ryan) Li
2012 Samir Kouro
2011 Jin Wang
2010 Maryam Saeedifard
2009 Rangarajan Tallam
2008 Regan Zane
2007 Christian Klumpner
2006 Patrick Chapman
2005 Ali Emadi
2004 Philip Carne Kajaer
2003 Babak Fahimi
2002 Pallab Midya
2001 David J. Perreault
2000 Jose A. Cobos
1999 Steven B. Leeb
1998 Frede Blaabjerg
1997 Vlako Vlatkovic


Please send any questions to the PELS Awards Committee.