| IEEE Xplore Digital Library | IEEE Standards | IEEE Spectrum | More Sites

Young Professional Exceptional Service Award

IEEE PELS Young Professional Exceptional Service Award

About the Award

The IEEE PELS Young Professional Exceptional Service Award recognizes exceptional service to the welfare of PELS by members who have graduated with their first professional degree within the past 15 years.

Award Prize:

  • Plaque
  • An honorarium of USD 1,500
  • Reimbursement of up to USD 1,000 towards the recipient’s necessary conference registration, travel, and accommodation costs incurred to attend the award ceremony

Submitting a Nominee

When submitting a nominee, you will be asked to log into your existing IEEE account (or register for a new one) to identify as a nominator. Subsequently, select the IEEE PELS Young Professional Exceptional Service Award and enter the required data and documents.

The portal to submit a nomination is now closed.

Award Details

Recognizing Outstanding Achievements

Krishnamoorthy3 InLab
2023 Honoree:

Harish Krishnamoorthy

For exceptional service to the IEEE Power Electronics Society through outstanding contributions to chapters, committees, conferences, and TPEL editorial board 

Dr. Harish S. Krishnamoorthy (Senior Member, IEEE) received his Bachelor of Technology (B. Tech.) degree from the Department of Electrical and Electronics Engineering (EEE), National Institute of Technology (NIT) Tiruchirappalli, India, and his Doctor of Philosophy (Ph. D.) degree from the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE), Texas A&M University, College Station, USA, in 2008 and 2015, respectively. From Jun. 2008 to Jul. 2010, he worked at GE Energy, Hyderabad, India, and received the Lean 6-Sigma Green Belt certification. From Apr. 2015 to July 2017, he was with Schlumberger, TX, USA. He also briefly worked at Ford and Google. Since August 2017, Dr. Krishnamoorthy has been a faculty in the ECE department of the University of Houston (UH), where he currently holds the rank of an Associate Professor. He has over 95 conference/journal papers in refereed publications, one granted U.S. patent, and three U.S. patent applications. He has further contributed to a book chapter for the IET. He is an Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics (TPEL) and the Standards Liaison for the IEEE PELS TC7. He is also on the organizing committees of IEEE APEC-2023, ECCE-2023, INTELEC-2024, etc. He received the UH College of Engineering’s Research Excellence Award in 2022 and Teaching Excellence Award in 2021. He was named an ‘OTC Emerging Leader’ by the Offshore Technology Conference in 2022, and an Early Career Research Fellow (ECRF) by the Gulf Research Program of the US National Academies. In 2023, Dr. Krishnamoorthy received the NSF CAREER Award and the IEEE PELS Young Professional Exceptional Service Award.

Eligibility Requirements & Criteria

Eligibility: Active PELS Members who have graduated with their first professional degree within the past 15 years as of 1 January of the year of the award are eligible. There is no restriction on affiliation, age, gender, IEEE member grade, or nationality

Criteria: Judgment of the nominees will be based on the nomination and impactful contributions to the welfare of PELS, which may include:

  • Administrative, leadership, and managerial accomplishments on behalf of PELS
  • Contributions in any part of PELS, including PELS Chapters, committees, conferences, transactions, etc.
  • General communication and advocacy of power electronics technology to the technical community as a whole
  • Initiation of innovative programs and nurturing of PELS activities

Past Recipients

There are currently no past recipients for this award.


Please send any questions to the PELS Awards Committee.