| IEEE Xplore Digital Library | IEEE Standards | IEEE Spectrum | More Sites

Harry A. Owen, Jr. Distinguished Service Award

IEEE PELS Harry A. Owen, Jr. Distinguished Service Award

About the Award

The IEEE PELS Harry A. Owen, Jr. Distinguished Service Award was established in 1996 to honor long and distinguished service to the welfare of the PELS at an exceptional level of dedication and achievement. Since 2011, it is dedicated to the memory of Harry A. Owen, Jr. of the Duke University Pratt School of Engineering in Durham, North Carolina, USA.

Award Prize:

  • Engraved plaque
  • A one-time honorarium of USD 3,500
  • Reimbursement of up to USD 1,000 towards the recipient’s necessary conference registration, travel, and accommodation costs incurred to attend the award ceremony
harry a owen
Harry A. Owen, Jr.
1919 - 2011

Submitting a Nominee

When submitting a nominee, you will be asked to log into your existing IEEE account (or register for a new one) to identify as a nominator.  Subsequently, select the IEEE PELS Harry A. Owen, Jr. Distinguished Service Award and enter the required data.

The portal to submit a nomination is now closed.

Award Details

Recognizing Outstanding Achievements

Alan Mantooth 2017 cropped
2023 Honoree:

Alan Mantooth

For two decades of distinguished service and leadership in technical operations, standards, publications, mentorship activities, and as society president

Dr. Mantooth (S’83 – M’90 – SM’97 – F’09) received the B.S. (summa cum laude) and M. S. degrees in electrical engineering from the University of Arkansas in 1985 and 1986, respectively, and the Ph.D. degree from the Georgia Institute of Technology in 1990. He joined Analogy in 1990 where he focused on semiconductor device modeling and the research and development of HDL-based modeling tools and techniques. Besides modeling, his interests include analog and mixed-signal IC design and power electronics. In 1996, Dr. Mantooth was named Distinguished Member of Technical Staff at Analogy (now owned by Synopsys).

In 1998, he joined the faculty of the Department of Electrical Engineering at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, as an Associate Professor. He has received numerous teaching, service, and research awards since returning to the UA. He was also selected to the Georgia Tech Council of Outstanding Young Engineering Alumni in 2002, and the Arkansas Academy of Electrical Engineers in 2006. Dr. Mantooth was promoted to his present rank of Distinguished Professor in the Electrical Engineering Department in 2011. He has co-founded two companies, Lynguent and Ozark Integrated Circuits.

Dr. Mantooth helped establish the National Center for Reliable Electric Power Transmission (NCREPT) at the UA in 2005, for which he serves as director. In 2006, he was selected as the inaugural holder of the 21st Century Endowed Chair in Mixed-Signal IC Design and CAD. He currently holds the 21st Century Leadership Chair in Engineering. Dr. Mantooth has published over 350 refereed articles on modeling and IC design. He holds patents on software architecture and algorithms for modeling tools and has others pending. He is co-author of three books and has served on several technical program committees for IEEE conferences.

He is currently serving the profession as Immediate Past-President of the IEEE Power Electronics Society until 2021. Dr. Mantooth is a Fellow of the IEEE, a member of Tau Beta Pi and Eta Kappa Nu, and registered professional engineer in Arkansas. Professor Mantooth serves as the Executive Director for NCREPT, GRAPES (the NSF I/UCRC for GRid-connected Advanced Power Electronic Systems), and SEEDS (DoE Center for Secure, Evolvable Energy Delivery Systems). He also serves as the Deputy Director of the NSF Engineering Research Center for Power Optimization of Electro-Thermal Systems (POETS).

Eligibility Requirements & Criteria

Eligibility: Any active PELS member is eligible to receive this award. There is no restriction on affiliation, age, gender, IEEE member grade, or nationality.

Criteria: The criteria for this award include evaluating outstanding contributions over a substantial time encompassing the following:

  • Creative and invigorating leadership of PELS
  • Exceptional administrative and managerial accomplishments on behalf of PELS
  • General communication and advocacy of power electronics technology to the technical community as a whole
  • Identification of new technologies within the scope fo PELS and nurturing activities to support them
  • Initiation of innovative programs to encourage wider participation in the full spectrum of PELS activities

Past Recipients

Year Recipient Name
2022 No Award given
2021 Braham Ferreira
2020 Dean Patterson
2019 Brad Lehman
2018 William Gerard Hurley
2017 Dong Tan
2016 Dushan Boroyevich
2015 Jerry L. Hudgins
2014 Rik De Doncker
2013 Ralph Kennel
2012 Thomas Habetler
2010 John M. Miller
2009 Frede Blaabjerg
2008 Philip T. Krein
2007 Thomas M. Jahns
2006 Jacobus Daniel van Wyk
2005 Christopher O. Riddleberger
2004 Arthur W. Kelley
2003 Koosuke Harada
2002 Robert V. White
2001 William M. Portnoy
2000 Richard G. Hoft
1999 Thomas G. Wilson, Sr.
1998 John G. Kassakian
1997 Harry A. Owen, Jr.


Please send any questions to the PELS Awards Committee.