| IEEE Xplore Digital Library | IEEE Standards | IEEE Spectrum | More Sites

Congratulations to our 2024 PELS Award Winners!

Share this Article:

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the following 2024 awards sponsored by the IEEE Power Electronics Society:

PELS Achievement Awards

Award for Achievements in Power Electronics Education: Remus Teodorescu

For pioneering power electronics education in renewable energy applications.

Award for Achievement in Power Electronics Standards: Mark Swihart

For championing collaboration between IEEE Standards Association and IEC Standards Committees.

McMurray Award for Industry Achievements in Power Electronics: Don Tan

For pioneering industry first contributions and impactful leadership in advancing space power electronics and power systems.

R. David Middlebrook Achievement Award: Keyue Ma Smedley

For contributions to control and topology development for high performance power conversion.

Richard M. Bass Outstanding Young Power Electronics Engineer Award: Christina DiMarino

For contributions to the packaging and integration of silicon carbide power semiconductor devices.

PELS Service Awards

Harry A. Owen, Jr. Distinguished Service Award: Dehong Xu

For leadership to globalization and membership development of the Power Electronics Society.

Young Professional Exceptional Service Award: Nayara Brandao de Freitas

For dedication to empowering young professionals, inspiring the next generation to thrive in the IEEE Power Electronics Society.

PELS Chapter Awards

Best Chapter: 

Large: PELS Bangalore Chapter

Medium: Northeast Brazil Section Chapter, PE31/IA34/PEL35

Small: Lebanon Joint chapter, IE13/PE31/CAS04/PEL35

Best Student Branch Chapter: 

Large: IEEE PELS Zhejiang University Student Branch Chapter

Medium: IEEE PELS/PES Student Branch Chapter at UConn

Small: G.Pulla Reddy Engineering College: Kurnool IEEE Student Branch

TC Administered Awards

Electrical Machines, Drives, and Related Automation Technical Achievement Award: Ayman El-Refaie

For the development of advanced electrical machines for transportation electrification.

Energy Storage Innovation Award: No award given this year.

Milan M Jovanović Award for Power Electronics Emerging Technology: Udaya Madawala

For outstanding contributions to bi-directional wireless power transfer technology.

Modeling and Control Technical Achievement Award: Maryam Saeedifard

For contributions to the modeling and control of multilevel converters.

Outstanding Achievement Award on Aerospace Power: Bulent Sarlioglu

For contributions to the research and development of high-performance electric drives for aerospace applications.

Outstanding Achievement Award for Contributions in Electronic Power Grid Technology: Johan Enslin

For his leadership in developing modern converter-fed power grids.

Sustainable Energy Systems Technical Achievement Award: Josep Pou

For contributions to power electronics applied to renewable energy systems. 

Technical Achievement Award for Integration and Miniaturization of Switching Power Converters: No award given this year.

Vehicle and Transportation Systems Achievement Award: Sheldon Williamson

For innovative electric energy storage systems and health-conscious charging solutions.

Andreas Lindemann
Chair, IEEE Power Electronics Society Awards Committee

Explore More

Latest News