IEEE Fellow is the highest grade of Institute membership, conferred only by election by the Board of Directors. Candidates must be senior members with at least five years of IEEE membership. The nominator is responsible for preparing the formal nomination form; identifying five to eight IEEE Fellows, capable of assessing the candidate’s contributions, who agree to serve as references; identifying an IEEE Society or Council whose evaluating committee will assess the candidate’s technical qualifications and contributions. All material is sent to the Fellows Committee, which must review all nominations and assessments, and prepare a ranked list. The total number of Fellow recommendations each year cannot exceed 0.1% of IEEE membership, exclusive of Students and Associates.

Click Here for the IEEE PELS Fellow Evaluation Committee Members 2021 List



PELS Members Elevated to Fellow in 2021

Alireza Bakhshai Alireza Bakhshai
for contributions to the development of synchronization techniques for power electronics converters
Oriol Gomis Bellmunt Oriol Gomis Bellmunt
for contributions to grid integration of renewable energy sources
Yaow Ming Chen Yaow-ming Chen

for contributions to grid-connected power 
converters for renewable energy applications

davidwenzhonggao headshot

Wenzhong Gao
for contributions to grid integration of wind power and electric vehicle technology

Pic coming soon Hua Geng
for contribution to control of renewable energy power converters
Amit Gupta Picture Amit Gupta
for leadership in power conversion systems
Dragan Jovcic Dragan Jovcic
for contributions to improvements in multi-terminal HVDC transmission grids and development of 
HVDC transformers
Pic coming soon Zhengyu Lu
for contributions to DC-DC power conversion and control
Gourab Majumdar Gourab Majumdar
for contribution to power semiconductor devices
and intelligent power module
Yasser Mohamed Yasser Mohamed
for contributions to the control and dynamic 
analysis of microgrids and power electronic systems
Sanjib Panda

Sanjib Panda
for contributions to iterative learning control of motor drives

Leila Parsa pic Leila Parsa
for contributions to control of multi-phase permanent magnet electrical drives
AkshayRathore Akshay Rathore
for contributions to the design and advancement 
of power electronics for drives and automotive industries
Kalyan Sen 2 Kalyan Sen
for the development and application of power flow control technology
mahesh swamy Mahesh Swamy
for development of power electronics topologies
Shinzo Tamai2GA Shinzo Tamai
for contributions to control for motor drives and three-level converters
Mi Ching Tsai Mi-ching Tsai
for leadership in magnetic materials for the electric motor industry

Mohammad Uddin
Mohammad Uddin
for contributions to control techniques for AC 
motor drives
for contributions to the application of artificial intelligence to power systems
Segio Vasquez Sergio Vazquez
for contributions to control techniques for power converters and drives
Yifeng Wu Yifeng Wu
for contributions to Gallium Nitride microwave
and power conversion devices
for development of high density power converters and their use in electric cars
Patrick Wheeler new Patrick Wheeler
for contributions to matrix power converter technology
Firuz Zare Firuz Zare
for contribution to power converters and leadership role in standardization