IEEE William E. Newell Power Electronics Award

The IEEE William E. Newell Power Electronics Award has been presented annually since 1977 for outstanding achievement in power electronics.  Beginning in 2005, the Award was elevated to an IEEE Technical Field Award, sponsored by the Power Electronics Society.  It is dedicated to the memory of Dr. William E. Newell of the Westinghouse Research and Development Center in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.  

The awardee has been judged to be outstanding in the multidisciplinary field of power electronics, which crosses the technical boundaries of several Societies of the IEEE.  The recipient receives a bronze medal, certificate, and honorarium.

Achievements by which an individual is judged to have made outstanding contributions encompass a broad range of activities and include teaching, innovative research, consulting endeavors, professional seminars, major project or program management, and the general communication and advocacy of power electronics technology to the technical community as a whole.  The technical disciplines that encompass the field of power electronics include the analysis, design, development, simulation, and application of electronic devices, magnetics, controls, and power circuits for inverters, converters, and motor drives ranging in power level from fractions of a watt to megawatts.

Submit a nomination for the next IEEE William E. Newell Power Electronics Award  The deadline for the Award is January 15, 2022.  If you have any questions please send them to PELS Awards Committee via


Past Recipients


2021 Robert W. Erikson
2020 Ivo Barbi
2019 Patrizio Vinciarelli
2018 Rainer Marquardt
2017 Seung-Ju Sul
2016 Johann W. Kolar
2015 Shu Yuen Ron Hui
2014 Frede Blaabjerg
2013 Rik De Doncker
2012 Leo Lorenz
2011 Praveen Jain
2010 Akio Nakagawa
2009 Tadashi Fukao
2008 Istvan Nagy
2007 Dushan Boroyevich
2006 Deepakraj M. Divan
2005 Bimal K. Bose
2004 M. Azizur Rahman
2003 Philip T. Krein
2002 Emanuel E. Landsman
2001 Hirofumi Akagi
2000 Luigi F. Malesani
1999 Thomas Jahns
1998 Joachim Holtz
1997 Pierre Thollot
1996 Akira Nabae
1995 J. Daan van Wyk
1994 Laszlo Gyugyi
1993 Robert L. Steigerwald
1992 Werner Leonhard
1991 B. Jayant Baliga
1990 Thomas A. Lipo
1989 Fred C. Lee
1988 Koosuke Harada
1987 John G. Kassakian
1986 Philip L. Hower
1985 Klemens Heumann
1984 Loren F. Stringer
1983 Francise C. Schwarz
1982 R. David Middlebrook
1981 Thomas G. Wilson
1980 Alexander Kusko
1979 Shashi Dewan
1978 William McMurray
1977 Richard Hoft