Technical Achievement Award for Integration and Miniaturization of Switching Power Converters

The IEEE PELS Technical Achievement Award for Integration and Miniaturization of Switching Power Converters recognizes innovators and researchers who have made outstanding technical contributions to the advancement of power electronic circuits, components, devices, and/or systems toward a higher level of integration and/or miniaturization of switching power converters.

Eligibility: Any active IEEE members are eligible for this award.  There are no other restrictions as to affiliation, age, gender, IEEE member grade, or nationality.

Criteria: Judgment of the nominees is based on the following:

  • Past relevant activities to the field and PELS TC 2
  • Sustained impact on PELS TC 2 and the profession
  • The quality of the nomination
  • The quality of the technical achievement or innovation

Award Items:

  • A plaque
  • An honorarium of 1,500 USD
  • Reimbursement of up to 1,000 USD towards the recipient's necessary conference registration, travel, and accommodation costs incurred to attend the award ceremony

Submitting a Nominee: When submitting a nominee, you will be asked to log into your existing IEEE account (or register for a new one) to identify as a nominator.  Subsequently, select the IEEE PELS Technical Achievement Award for Integration and Miniaturization of Switching Power Converters and enter the required data and documents. 

***Please note: nominators must submit a description of the merits of the nominees and evidence of their achievements.***

The portal to submit applications is now open.  Please submit your nomination by 31 March 2024.                                                                                                                      

Submit a Nomination


2023 Honoree: Zheng John Shen

For contribution to the development of MHz-frequency power MOSFET Technology for ultrahigh density power converters


Zheng John Shen is currently a professor and director of School of Mechatronic Systems Engineering at Simon Fraser University, Canada.  He has over 33 years of academic, industrial, and entrepreneurial experience in the field of power electronics and power semiconductor devices. He has authored or co-authored roughly 350 journal and conference papers, several book chapters, and 18 issued U.S. patents. He has recently co-edited a book on Direct Current Fault Protection: Basic Concepts and Technology Advances (Springer, 2023). He was with Motorola Inc. 1993-1999, the University of Michigan-Dearborn 1999-2004, the University of Central Florida 2004-2012, and Illinois Institute of Technology 2013-2021. He served as a board member and Chief Scientist of GWS Semiconductor (now a division of Renesas Electronics) between 2002 and 2012 and currently serving on the board of directors of Vicor Corporation (NASDAQ: VICR). He served the IEEE PELS in various capacities including Vice President of Products, AdCom member at large, Chair of PELS Distinguished Lecturers Program, general chair, technical program chair, or organizing committee member of over 30 international conferences, including General Chair of the 8th IEEE Energy Convergence Congress and Expo (ECCE2016) and of the 30th IEEE International Symposium on Power Semiconductor Devices and ICs (ISPSD2018). He is a Fellow of IEEE and a Fellow of the U.S. National Academy of Inventors. 

Year Recipient Name
2022 Noah Sturcken
2021 Cian O'Mathuna