Harry A. Owen, Jr. Distinguished Service Award

The IEEE PELS Harry A. Owen, Jr. Distinguished Service Award was established in 1996 to honor long and distinguished service to the welfare of the PELS at an exceptional level of dedication and achievement. Since 2011, it is dedicated to the memory of Harry A. Owen, Jr. of the Duke University Pratt School of Engineering in Durham, North Carolina, USA.

Eligibility: All members of the PELS are eligible.

Criteria: Achievements by which an individual is judged to have made outstanding contributions to the PELS encompass a broad range of activities over a substantial period including, but not limited to:

  • creative and invigorating leadership of the Society
  • exceptional administrative and managerial accomplishments on behalf of the Society
  • identification of new technologies within the scope of the Society, and nurturing activities to support these technologies
  • initiation of innovative programs to encourage wider participation in the full spectrum of Society activities
  • the general communication and advocacy of power electronics technology to the technical community as a whole

Award Items:

  • Engraved plaque
  • A one-time honorarium of USD 3,500
  • Reimbursement of up to USD 1,000 towards the recipient's necessary conference registration, travel, and accommodation costs incurred to attend the award ceremony

Submitting a Nominee: When submitting a nominee, you will be asked to log into your existing IEEE account (or register for a new one) to identify as a nominator.  Subsequently, select the IEEE PELS Harry A. Owen, Jr. Distinguished Service Award and enter the required data.

The portal to submit applications is closed.  

Please send any questions to the PELS Awards Committee.

2023 Honoree: Alan Mantooth

Alan Mantooth 2017 croppedFor two decades of distinguished service and leadership in technical operations, standards, publications, mentorship activities, and as society president

Dr. Mantooth (S'83 - M'90 - SM'97 – F’09) received the B.S. (summa cum laude) and M. S. degrees in electrical engineering from the University of Arkansas in 1985 and 1986, respectively, and the Ph.D. degree from the Georgia Institute of Technology in 1990. He joined Analogy in 1990 where he focused on semiconductor device modeling and the research and development of HDL-based modeling tools and techniques. Besides modeling, his interests include analog and mixed-signal IC design and power electronics. In 1996, Dr. Mantooth was named Distinguished Member of Technical Staff at Analogy (now owned by Synopsys).

In 1998, he joined the faculty of the Department of Electrical Engineering at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, as an Associate Professor. He has received numerous teaching, service, and research awards since returning to the UA. He was also selected to the Georgia Tech Council of Outstanding Young Engineering Alumni in 2002, and the Arkansas Academy of Electrical Engineers in 2006. Dr. Mantooth was promoted to his present rank of Distinguished Professor in the Electrical Engineering Department in 2011. He has co-founded two companies, Lynguent and Ozark Integrated Circuits.

Dr. Mantooth helped establish the National Center for Reliable Electric Power Transmission (NCREPT) at the UA in 2005, for which he serves as director. In 2006, he was selected as the inaugural holder of the 21st Century Endowed Chair in Mixed-Signal IC Design and CAD. He currently holds the 21st Century Leadership Chair in Engineering. Dr. Mantooth has published over 350 refereed articles on modeling and IC design. He holds patents on software architecture and algorithms for modeling tools and has others pending. He is co-author of three books and has served on several technical program committees for IEEE conferences.

He is currently serving the profession as Immediate Past-President of the IEEE Power Electronics Society until 2021. Dr. Mantooth is a Fellow of the IEEE, a member of Tau Beta Pi and Eta Kappa Nu, and registered professional engineer in Arkansas. Professor Mantooth serves as the Executive Director for NCREPT, GRAPES (the NSF I/UCRC for GRid-connected Advanced Power Electronic Systems), and SEEDS (DoE Center for Secure, Evolvable Energy Delivery Systems). He also serves as the Deputy Director of the NSF Engineering Research Center for Power Optimization of Electro-Thermal Systems (POETS).



Year Recipient Name Reason
2022 No Award given
2021 Braham Ferreira For exemplary service to and leadership of the PELS
2020 Dean Patterson For service to Power Electronics over an extensive period of time, particularly in international inclusivity, education, technical committee growth, and member enfranchisement
2019 Brad Lehman For his leadership as an Editor in Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics
2018 William Gerard Hurley For dedicated service to IEEE PELS for over thirty years, particularly in international conferences and seminars and the promotion of power electronics to a worldwide audience through lectures and invited talks
2017 Dong Tan For sustained services in revitalizing technical activities and in positioning PELS for strategic growth
2016 Dushan Boroyevich For distinguished service, vision, and leadership in guiding the global expansion of the PELS and for his skills as a unique communicator, society advocate, mentor, and scientist
2015 Jerry L. Hudgins For over 25 years of service and leadership to the PELS as a Society Officer, Division Director, conference organizer, and enthusiastic society advocate
2014 Rik De Doncker For his contribution to the globalization of the IEEE PELS
2013 Ralph Kennel For dedicated services to IEEE PELS conferences, workshops, and chapter activities around the globe
2012 Thomas Habetler
2010 John M. Miller
2009 Frede Blaabjerg
2008 Philip T. Krein
2007 Thomas M. Jahns
2006 Jacobus Daniel van Wyk
2005 Christopher O. Riddleberger
2004 Arthur W. Kelley
2003 Koosuke Harada
2002 Robert V. White
2001 William M. Portnoy
2000 Richard G. Hoft
1999 Thomas G. Wilson, Sr.
1998 John G. Kassakian
1997 Harry A. Owen, Jr.


harry a owen

1919 - 2011