R. David Middlebrook Achievement Award

The IEEE PELS R. David Middlebrook Achievement Award was established in 2011 to honor an individual who is judged to have accomplished outstanding contributions in the technical field of power electronics within one or more subfields, such as modeling and control, design-oriented analysis, development, simulation, and application of electronic devices, passive components, analog sensing, and power circuits for inverters, converters, and motor drives in all power levels.  The award may recognize a single significant contribution such as a seminal paper or analysis method, or a series of accomplishments that together represent outstanding technical contributions.

Presentation: The award is usually presented at ECCE America every year during the Awards Ceremony.

Award Items:

  • Bronze medal
  • Certificate
  • A one-time honorarium of USD 5,000
  • Reimbursement of up to USD 1,000 towards the recipient's necessary conference registration, travel, and accommodation costs incurred to attend the award ceremony

Submitting a Nominee: When submitting a nominee, you will be asked to log into your existing IEEE account (or register for a new one) to identify as a nominator.  Subsequently, select the Middlebrook Award and enter the required data and documents.  Please note: 3 to 5 endorsement letters will be required and must contain the following: name, title, contact data, endorser's main field of interest, the relationship between the endorser and nominee, nominee's achievements for the selection criteria indicated in the award description, the reason why the endorser personally recommends the nominee, endorser's signature, and date.

The portal to submit applications is now open.  Please submit your nomination by 31 March 2023.                                                                                                                 

Please send any questions to the PELS Awards Committee  

Submit a Nomination

Dragan Maksimovic Pic 2022

2022 Honoree: Dragan Maksimovic

For contributions to modeling and analysis of digitally controlled power converters


Prof. Dragan Maksimovic received his B.S. and M.S. degrees in electrical engineering from the University of Belgrade, Serbia in 1984 and 1986, respectively.  He was a member of the Caltech Power Electronics Group led by Prof. Middlebrook and Prof. Cuk from 1986 to 1989, and he received his Ph.D. degree from the California Institute of Technology in 1989.  Since 1992, he has been with the University of Colorado Boulder, where he is a Professor and Co-Director of the Colorado Power Electronics Center.  Prof. Maksimovic has published over 300 papers in journals and at professional conferences and holds over 30 US patents. He has co-authored the textbook Fundamentals of Power Electronics, now in its 3rd edition (Springer 2020), and the textbook Digital Control of High-Frequency Switched-Mode Power Converters (Wiley-IEEE Press 2015).  He received Bruce Holland Excellence in Teaching Awards in 2004, 2011, and 2018, Charles Hutchinson Memorial Teaching Award in 2012, and the 2013 Boulder Faculty Assembly Excellence in Teaching Award.  He served as an IEEE PELS Distinguished Lecturer from 2011 to 2017 and as the General Chair of IEEE COMPEL 2010.  Prof. Maksimovic is currently serving as an Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics, and as an Editor for the IEEE Journal of Emerging and Selected Topics in Power Electronics.  He is a Fellow of the IEEE and a recipient of the IEEE PELS Modeling and Control Technical Achievement Award.  His research interests include modeling, control, and design of power electronics for renewable energy, electrified transportation, and energy efficiency applications.


Year Recipient Name Reason
Shu-Hung (Henry) Chung For Energy Utilization Technologies for Smart Cities
2020 Alex Qin Huang For development of Silicon and Wide Band Gap Power Electronics Technology
2019 Issa Batarseh For contributions to power electronics conversion and application to photovoltaic (PV) generation
2018 Grahame Holmes For fundamental contributions to the theory and practice of Pulse-Width-Modulation and Current Regulation for Power Converters
2017 Jian Sun For contributions to modeling and control of power electronic converters and systems
2016 Mark Dehong Xu For leadership and contributions to power electronics technology in renewable energy systems and energy efficiency
2015 David J. Perreault

For outstanding contributions to the design, analysis, and construction of high-performance power electronics circuits

2014 Johann Kolar

For circuit innovation, modeling, control, and multi-objective optimization of power electronic converters

2013 William Gerard Hurley For contributions to high-frequency magnetic design, modeling of magnetic components, and analysis of planar magnetic devices for power electronic applications
2012 Prasad Enjeti