Richard M. Bass Outstanding Young Power Electronics Engineer Award

The Richard M. Bass Outstanding Young Power Electronics Engineer Award recognizes outstanding achievement in the field of power electronics by an engineer less than 35 years of age.  Since 1999, it is dedicated to the memory of Richard M. Bass of the Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta, Georgia, USA.

Eligibility: All IEEE members of any grade, in the field of power electronics, and less than 35 years of age as of 1 January of the year of the award, are eligible (applicants born after 1 January 1988).

Criteria: Candidates are judged for outstanding contributions encompassing a broad range of technical activities including research, innovative product design and application, teaching, and project leadership.  The technical disciplines in the field of power electronics include the analysis, design, development, simulation, and practical application of electronic drives, magnetics, controls, and power circuits for inverters, converters, and motor drives ranging in power level from fractions of a watt to megawatts.

Award Items:

  • Certificate
  • A one-time honorarium of USD 1,500
  • Reimbursement of up to USD 1,000 towards the recipient's necessary conference registration, travel, and accommodation costs incurred to attend the award ceremony

Submitting a Nominee: When submitting a nominee, you will be asked to log into your existing IEEE account (or register for a new one) to identify as a nominator.  Subsequently, select the Richard M. Bass Outstanding Young Power Electronics Engineer Award and enter the required data.

The portal to submit applications is closed.                                                                                                                

Please send any questions to the PELS Awards Committee


2023 Honoree: Minjie Chen

For contributions to the modeling, design and application of high-performance power electronic systems

Minjie Chen is an Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and the Andlinger Center for Energy and the Environment at Princeton University. He received his S.M., E.E., and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from MIT in 2015 and his B.S. in Electrical Engineering from Tsinghua University in 2009. His research interests include high-frequency power electronics, power architecture, power magnetics, advanced packaging, data-driven methods, design automation, and design methods of high-performance power electronics for emerging and important applications.

Prof. Chen is a recipient of the IEEE PELS Richard M. Bass Outstanding Young Power Electronics Engineer Award, the Princeton SEAS E. Lawrence Keyes, Jr./Emerson Electric Co. Junior Faculty Award, the NSF CAREER Award, five IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics Prize Paper Awards, a COMPEL Best Paper Award, an ICRA Best Poster Award, three ECCE Best Demo Awards, a 3D-PEIM Rao R. Tummala Best Paper Award, an OCP Best Paper Award, a Siebel research award, a research award, a First Place Award of Princeton Keller Center Innovation Forum, and the MIT EECS D. N. Chorafas Ph.D. Thesis Award. He was listed on the Princeton Engineering Commendation List for Outstanding Teaching multiple times. Dr. Chen is an IEEE senior member, the Vice Chair of PELS TC10 Design Methodologies, and the TPC member of a few flagship PELS conferences including APEC, ECCE, COMPEL, and ICDCM. His research team developed the MagNet database, built the MagNet-AI platform, launched the MagNet Challenge, and is leading the open-source MagNet community.

Year Recipient Name Reason
2022 Daniel Costinett For innovations in high-density power converters employing WBG devices
2021 Yongheng Yang For contributions to the design and control of grid-friendly solar photovoltaic systems
2020 Pradeep Shenoy For contributions to high density and high-efficiency DC-DC conversion systems
2019 Katherine Kim For contributions to differential power processing converter techniques for voltaic applications
2018 Xiongfei Wang For research contribution aiming at the stability of power systems with power electronic supply
2017 Ali Davoudi For contributions to the modeling and simulation of power electronics and microgrids
2016 Huai Wang For his contribution to the reliability of power electronic conversion systems
2015 Zixin Li For contributions to multilevel and voltage-source HVDC converters
2014 Robert Pilawa-Podgurski For innovations in the design and application of miniaturized high-performance dc-dc converters
2013 Yunwei (Ryan) Li For contributions to the control of power electronics in renewable energy systems, micro-grids, and electric drives
2012 Samir Kouro
2011 Jin Wang
2010 Maryam Saeedifard
2009 Rangarajan Tallam
2008 Regan Zane
2007 Christian Klumpner
2006 Patrick Chapman
2005 Ali Emadi
2004 Philip Carne Kajaer
2003 Babak Fahimi
2002 Pallab Midya
2001 David J. Perreault
2000 Jose A. Cobos
1999 Steven B. Leeb
1998 Frede Blaabjerg
1997 Vlako Vlatkovic

Richard M Bass
1959 - 1999