Award for Achievement in Power Electronics Standards

Eligibility: Any active IEEE member is eligible to receive this award.  There is no restriction on nationality, age, gender, or IEEE member grade.

Criteria: Judging will be based on the nominator's recommendation, endorsement letters and evaluation of the selection committee members.  The criteria include:

  • sustained contribution of the candidate to the advancement of IEEE standards in the field of power electronics
  • sustained services of the candidate to the IEEE standards in the field of power electronics
  • dissemination of knowledge by the candidate of the IEEE standards in the field of power electronics 
  • candidate's stature around IEEE standards in the field of power electronics
  • the quality of the nomination

Presentation: This award will be presented at a PELS-sponsored conference.

Award Items: 

  • Engraved plaque
  • A one-time honorarium of USD 1,500
  • Reimbursement of up to USD 1,000 towards the recipient's necessary conference registration, travel, and accommodation costs incurred to attend the award ceremony

Submitting a Nominee: When submitting a nominee, you will be asked to log into your existing IEEE account (or register for a new one) to identify as a nominator.  Subsequently, select the IEEE Award for Achievement in Power Electronics Standards and enter the required data and documents.  Please note: at least two reference letters will be required and must contain the following: name, title, contact data, referee's main field of interest, the relationship between the referee and nominee, nominee's achievements for the selection criteria indicated in the award description, the reason why the referee personally recommends the nominee, referee's signature, and date.

The portal to submit applications is now open.  Please submit your nomination by 31 March 2023.                                                                                                                   

Please send any questions to the PELS Awards Committee                                                                                                                                                                                            Submit a Nomination

2022 Honoree: 

Matt Wilkowski Photo ImageMatthew Wilkowski

For diligent work in the Electronic Transformer Technical Committee (ETTC)



Matt Wilkowski has been involved with the design and productization of power magnetic components for integration in power converters for over forty years. During his tenure at AT&T Bell Labs/Lucent Technologies/Tyco Electronics Power Systems from 1983 thru 2003, Matt was responsible for the technology road mapping, product design and verification, commercialization, and ongoing product support of power magnetics integrated in the assembly process of power converters for telecommunication applications. While part of Enpirion from 2003 through 2013, Matt focused on the integration of power magnetics into semiconductor device packaging leading to the commercialization of   a wide product portfolio of Power System in Package (PSiP) devices. With the acquisition of Enpirion, Matt was a technology architect at Altera and transitioned to a principal engineer at Intel after the acquisition of Altera focused on the development of power magnetics for various levels of integrated voltage regulators (IVRs). He is currently Vice President of Technology at EnaChip and focused on productization of wafer level magnetics for various market applications.

Matt is an IEEE Fellow and one of the co-chairs for the PSMA Magnetics Committee and has led the organizing committee of the PELS/PSMA sponsored Power Magnetics @ High Frequency pre-APEC workshop series since the first workshop in 2016. Matt has been the past chairperson of both the IEC Technical Committee 51 and the PELS Electronics Transformers Technical Committee (ETTC) and is currently leading initiatives for the development of standards for the testing and characterization of magnetic components and materials for both standards organizations.

Year Recipient Reason
2021 Bruce Thackwray For sustained substantial contributions to multiple IEEE Standards regarding Power Transformers and Inductors
2020 John DeCramer For sustained contributions to IEEE Standards regarding Power Transformers and Inductors
2019 Brad Lehman For outstanding contributions in initiating and leading the IEEE LED lighting standards group (PAR1789) and to the IEEEStd 1789-2015-IEEE Recommended Practices for Modulating Current in High-Brightness LEDs for Mitigating Health Risks to Viewers