IEEE Modeling and Control Technical Achievement Award

To honor innovators and researchers who have made outstanding and sustained technical contributions to the advancement of power electronics in the area of modeling and control. An honorarium of $1,500 USD and engraved plaque. In addition, up to $1,000 USD will be reimbursed towards necessary conference registration, travel and accommodation costs incurred to attend the award ceremony.

If you would like to nominate an IEEE member for the Modeling and Control Technical Achievement Award, please go to our IEEE Society Awards Application System when the Nomination process opens on 30 December 2021  To identify as a nominator, you will be asked in the beginning of this process to log in to your existing IEEE account or to register for a new one. Subsequently, you should choose the Modeling and Control Technical Achievement Award and enter the required data and documents. Please note that you may submit up to two endorsement letters, containing the following: Name, title, contact data, main field of interest of the endorser, the relationship between the endorser and the nominee, achievements of the nominee with respect to the selection criteria indicated in the award description, the reason why the endorser personally recommends the nominee for the award, signature of the endorser and date. Nominations received up to March 31st will be considered in the current year. 

If you have any questions, please send them to PELS Awards Committee via

Click here to submit

Past Recipients

2020 Lennart Harnefors For contributions to Control and Dynamic Analysis of Power Electronic Systems
2019 Alan Mantooth For contributions to the modeling of power semiconductor devices
2018 Charles Sullivan For contributions to the modeling and analysis of magnetic components for power electronics 
2017 Yan-Fei Liu For contributions in modeling of current programming control and digital control strategies 
2016 Paolo Mattavelli For his contributions to dynamic phasor modeling of FACTS devices, to control techniques in active filters, and to digital control in power conversion systems.
2015 Brad Lehman For his contribution in modeling and control of dc-dc converters and solid-state lighting
2014 Seth Sanders For his contribution in averaged modeling and digital control of switched-mode power converters 
2013 Jian Sun
2012 Dragan Maksimovic For his contribution in digital control of high switching frequency power supplies