Society History

This page is dedicated to recording the rich history of the IEEE Power Electronics Society (PELS) and appropriately honoring the men and women who performed their voluntary tasks with zeal and energy that far surpassed the requirements called for by the organization.  It is also to convey to future generations of engineers devoted to the application of power electronics that they do not stand alone and that their work and dedication to their chosen profession are founded on the shoulders of those who came before them.

The IEEE PELS was established as a Society on 20 June 1987, after a few years of operation as the Power Electronics Council.  This followed the gradual emergence of power electronics as a distinct discipline in the 1970s and 1980s.  Many of the early Society leaders were involved in the IEEE Power Electronics Specialists Conference (PESC), which began in 1970, and the IEEE International Telecommunications Energy Conference (INTELEC), which began in 1978.  The Applied Power Electronics Conference and Exposition (APEC), which began in 1986, was an early response to growing Council interests.  Today, the Society sponsors a wide range of international conferences and worships across many application areas and topics within the field, in addition to broad conferences such as INTELEC, APEC, and the IEEE Energy Conversion Congress and Exposition (ECCE), the successor to PESC.  The Society has grown from a few active committees to a global organization with over 11,000 members.


Years Name
2021 - 2022 Liuchen Chang
2019 - 2020 Frede Blaabjerg
2017 - 2018 Alan Mantooth
2015 - 2016 Braham Ferreira
2013 - 2014 Dong Tan
2011 - 2012 Dushan Boroyevich
2009 - 2010 Deepak Divan
2007 - 2008 Hirofumi Akagi
2005 - 2006 Rik DeDoncker
2003 - 2004 Dean Patterson
2001 - 2002 Thomas Habetter
1999 - 2000 Philip Krein
1997 - 1998 Jerry Hudgins
1995 - 1996 Thomas Jahns
1993 - 1994 Fred C. Lee
1991 - 1992 Thomas G. Wilson, Sr.
1989 - 1990 Pierre Thollot
1987 - 1988 John Kassakian
1983 - 1986 (Council) Trey Burns

Gerard hurley
History Chair
Natl. Univ. of Ireland, Galway (Ireland)