newell_medal_scan_-_frontThe William E. Newell Power Electronics Award has been presented annually since 1977 for outstanding achievement in power electronics.  Beginning in 2005, the Award was elevated to an IEEE Technical Field Award, sponsored by the Power Electronics Society.  It is dedicated to the memory of Dr. William E. Newell of the Westinghouse Research and Development Center in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.  The awardee has been judged to be outstanding in the multidisciplinary field of power electronics, which crosses the technical boundaries of a number of Societies of the IEEE.  The recipient receives a bronze medal, certificate and honorarium.

Achievements by which an individual is judged to have made outstanding contributions encompass a broad range of activities and include teaching, innovative research, consulting endeavors, professional seminars, major project or program management, and the general communication and advocacy of power electronics technology to the technical community as a whole.  The technical disciplines that encompass the field of power electronics include the analysis, design, development, simulation and application of electronic devices, magnetics, controls and power circuits for inverters, converters and motor drives ranging in power level from fractions of a watt to megawatts.  Submit a nomination for the next IEEE Newell Award.


Past Recipients:

2014 - Frede Blaabjerg
1995 - J. Daan van Wyk
2013 - Rik De Doncker 1994 - Laszlo Gyugyi
2012 - Leo Lorenz 1993 - Robert L. Steigerwald
2011 - Praveen Jain 1992 - Werner Leonhard
2010 - Akio Nakagawa 1991 - B. Jayant Baliga
2009 - Tadashi Fukao 1990 - Thomas A. Lipo
2008 - Istvan Nagy 1989 - Fred C. Lee
2007 - Dushan Boroyevich 1988 - Koosuke Harada
2006 - Deepakraj M. Divan 1987 - John G. Kassakian
2005 - Bimal K. Bose 1986 - Philip L. Hower
2004 - M. Azizur Rahman 1985 - Klemens Heumann
2003 - Philip T. Krein 1984 - Loren F. Stringer
2002 - Emanuel E. Landsman 1983 - Francise C. Schwarz
2001 - Hirofumi Akagi 1982 - R. David Middlebrook
2000 - Luigi F. Malesani 1981 - Thomas G. Wilson
1999 - Thomas Jahns 1980 - Alexander Kusko
1998 - Joachim Holtz 1979 - Shashi Dewan
1997 - Pierre Thollot 1977 - Richard Hoft
1996 - Akira Nabae 1978 - William McMurray





For more information on the IEEE William E. Newell Power Electronics Award please click here.



shopping cart
Shop PELS Merchandise