



# **IEEE PELS Administrative Committee**

**APEC 2015** 

Charlotte, NC USA

# **Charlotte Convention Center**

9:00 am - 3:00 pm Friday, March 20, 2015 Meeting Minutes

Meeting started at 9:05 am

#### **Welcome and Self Introductions**

Name	Title	Present	Absent
Braham Ferreira	President	X	
Alan Mantooth	VP Technical Operations	X	
Mario Pacas	VP Conferences	X	
Frede Blaabjerg	VP Products	Χ	
Jinjun Liu	Exec VP Membership	X	
Peter Wilson	Exec VP Standards	Χ	
Don Tan	Immediate Past President/Exec VP Global Relations	X	
Dushan Boroyevich	Senior Past President	X	
Treasurer	Jian Sun	X	
Mario Pacas	Constitution & Bylaws Chair	See above	
	TC Chairs		
	TC 1: Technical Committee Chair Power & Control		
Yan-Fei Liu	Core Technologies	Χ	
	TC 2: Technical Committee Chair Power Conversion		
Seth Sanders	Systems and Components		Χ
	TC 3: Technical Committee Chair Motor Drives and		
Brian Welchko	Actuators		Χ
	TC4: Technical Committee Chair Vehicle and		
Anand Sathyan	Transportation Systems		Χ
Liuchen Chang	TC 5: Sustainable Energy Systems		Χ

Tj Liang John Hawkins	TC 6: Technical Committee Chair High Performance and Emerging Technologies Technical Committee Chair Communications Energy Systems Members at Large 2013-2014-2015	X	X
John Shen	Member-at-Large		Χ
Maryam Saeedifard	Member-at-Large	X	
Bob Guenther	Member-at-Large	Χ	
Frede Blaabjerg	Member-at-Large	See above	
Paolo Mattavelli	Member-at-Large	Χ	
Joao Pinto	Member-at-Large	X	
	Members at Large 2014-2015-2016		
Vladimir Blasko	Member-at-Large	X	
Silva Hiti	Member-at-Large		Χ
Dan Kinzer	Member-at-Large	X	
Zhengming Zhao	Member-at-Large		Χ
Pat Wheeler	Member-at-Large	X	
Mario Pacas	Member-at-Large	See above	
	Members at Large 2015-2016-2017		
Robert Balog	Member-at-Large	X	
Johan Enslin	Member-at-Large	X	
Helen Li	Member-at-Large	X	
William A. Peterson	Member-at-Large	X	
Pradeep Shenoy	Member-at-Large	X	
Shinzo Tamai	Member-at-Large	X	
	Non Voting		
Andreas Lindemann	Awards Chair	Χ	
Ralph Kennel	Non Voting Member: ECCE Global Chair	X	
	STAFF		
Donna Florek	Technical Community Program Specialist	X	
Michael Markowycz	Technical Community Program Specialist	x	
Mike Kelly	Society Executive Director	Х	

#### **MOTIONS from this Meeting**

- 1. Motion to approved the agenda: Alan Mantooth
- 2. Motion to approve the minutes: Braham
- 3. Motion to approve \$20 K increase in expenditures to the 2015 budget for conference promotional activity and administrative enhancements: Mario
- 4. Motion to approve \$20 K increase in expenditures to the 2015 budget for membership development and administrative enhancements: Jinjun Liu
- 5. Motion to approve \$44K to fund new initiative expenditure to the 2016 budget for membership development and chapter support activities Jinjun Liu
- 6. Motion: to approve \$21,500 for PELSC activities and programing support in 2016 Peter Wilson
- 7. Motion to approve \$5K for PELS SC activities in support of the WGB program in 2015

# **ACTIONS from this Meeting**

Action: Staff to trademark FEPPCON

Action: Dushan Boroyevich Strategic plan in not completed

Action: Ask Braham to appoint members to the Constitution and Bylaws Committee to draft

who should make up the LRP and

have it changed in the Bylaws (by ECCE 2015)

Action: PELSC to send a proposal to ECCE 2016 for Special Sessions

Action: Yan-Fei Liu finalizing draft for Standards Award and send to TABARC

Action: Investigate the profile for types of members that are downloading the papers from

**TPEL** 

NOTE: Changing the structure of the AdCom for the next meeting
There will now be a meeting on Sunday for ECCE - after AdCom lunch 1-5pm.
There will also be a meeting on Thursday afternoon after the Awards Reception.
No meeting on Friday

#### **Roll Call Introductions**

Guests: Cian O Mathuna, Ger, Hurley, Robert Pilawa; Phil Krein, Kathryn Kim, Brad Lehman, Grahame Holmes, Division II Director: Hiro Akagi

Staff: Mike Kelly, Donna Florek, Mike Markowycz

Motion to approve the agenda: Alan Mantooth

**Second Peter Wilson** 

**Motion Passed** 

Motion to approve the minutes: Braham

Second Alan Mantooth

**Motion Passed** 

## **Review of Action Items from ECCE Pittsburgh**

Actions not completed

Action: Staff to trademark FEPPCON

Action: Dushan Boroyevich Strategic plan in not completed

**President: Braham Ferreira** 

See report:

## **Vice President Technical Operations: Alan Mantooth**

See report

#### **Treasurer: Jian Sun**

See Report

Reserves are 6Million

We have the opportunity to come up with some new initiatives

Motion to approve \$20 K increase in expenditures to the 2015 budget for conference promotional activity and administrative enhancements: Mario

Second: Don Tan Motion Passed

Motion to approve \$20 K increase in expenditures to the 2015 budget for membership development and administrative enhancements: Jinjun Liu

Second: Peter Wilson

**Motion Passed** 

Motion to approve \$44K to fund new initiative expenditure to the 2016 budget for membership development and chapter support activities Jinjun Liu

Second: Peter Wilson

**Motion Passed** 

#### Awards Chair: Andreas Lindemann

See Report

Nomination deadline March 31, 2015

#### Long Range Planning Committee Chair: Senior Past President: Dushan Boroyevich

See report

Action: ask Braham to appoint this committee or some other committee to draft who should make up the LRP and have it changed in the Bylaws (at ECCE 2015)

#### **FEPPCON Report - Frede Blaabjerg**;

See report

Lunch Break from 12:15 – 1:00 pm

#### <u>Standards Report – Executive VP for Standards: Peter Wilson</u>

See report

Action: PELSC to send a proposal to ECCE 2016 for Special Sessions

Action: Yan-Fei Liu finalizing draft for Standards Award and send to TABARC

Motion: to approve \$21,500 for PELSC activities and programing support in 2016 – Peter Wilson

Second Bill Peterson

Discussion
Motion Passed

Motion to approve \$5K for PELS SC activities in support of the WGB program in 2015

Second: Bill Peterson

Discussion
Motion Passed

#### <u>History Report - Phil Krein</u>

See Report

#### <u>Transportation Electrification Report – Phil Krein</u>

**See Report** 

## **Fellows report: Ger Hurley**

See Report

#### **Vice President for Products: Frede Blaabjerg**

See report

Action- Investigate the profile for types of members that are downloading the papers from TPEL

# Vice President for Membership: Jinjun Liu

See Report

# Vice President for Global Relations: Don Tan

Verbal Report –

National academy of Engineers

<u>Little Box Challenge is in progress:</u> awaiting results

Nominations: Don has received all of the information from Dushan regarding email templates and communication for the nominations committee process.

Motion to adjourn: Braham

Second: Don

Meeting adjourn 2:53 pm

NOTE: Changing the structure of the AdCom for the next meeting
There will now be a meeting on Sunday for ECCE - after AdCom lunch 1-5pm.
There will also be a meeting on Thursday afternoon after the Awards Reception.
No meeting on Friday.