Programs & Services

  • Initiated and organize the flagship annual conference: IEEE International Symposium on Power Electronics for Distributed Generation Systems (PEDG). Established annual best paper awards for the papers presented at PEDG.
  • Technical or/and financial Co-Sponsor for conferences: Asian Conference on Energy, Power and Transportation Electrification (ACEPT), IEEE Conference on Power Electronics and Renewable Energy (CPERE).
  • Established Student Travel Support Award annually for attending PEDG sponsored by TC5. Established Travelling Lecturer Program that yields the latest developments in TC5 areas and yields readily available video lectures.
  • Established PELS Sustainable Energy Systems Technical Achievement Award which will be presented annually at PEDG.
  • Propose and organize Special Issues for IEEE Journal of Emerging and Selected Topics in Power Electronics (JESTPE), and IEEE Open Journal of Power Electronics (OJPEL) in the areas of Sustainable Energy Systems (SES), which intends to allow authors to substantially enhance their papers presented in PEDG, ECCE, and APEC. 
  • Propose and organize Special Sessions in the areas of SES at ECCE, and work closely with the Power Sources Manufacturers Association (PSMA) to organize Special Sessions at APEC. 
  • Provide Technical Program Committee Vice Chairs/Session Chairs to manage the papers review in the areas of SES at ECCE.  
  • Provide Technical Webinars and Podcasts on the latest SES topics.
  • Closely involved with PELS initiatives such as International Technology Roadmap for Wide Bandgap Power Semiconductors (ITRW), Empowering Billion Lives (EBL), and International Technology Roadmap of Power Electronics for Distributed Energy Systems (ITRD).

Thrust Areas

Thrust 1: Reliable PE and systems for sustainable energy sys. (SES)
Frede Blaabjerg, Aalborg U.
Debrup Das, Hitachi-ABB Power Grids

Thrust 2: Wide- and narrow-bandgap technologies for SES
Sudip K. Mazumder U. of Illinois
Tirthajyoti Sarkar, On Semiconductor

Thrust 3: Smart cities, sustainable interdependencies, internet of things (IoT), and energy cyber-physical systems
Juan Balda, U. of Arkansas
Kaushik Basu, IISc

Thrust 4: Smart and microgrids, rural and off-grid electrification
Liuchen Chang, U. of New Brunswick
Gab-Su Seo, National Renewable Energy Lab.
Marcelo Lobo Heldwein, U. of Federal de Santa Catarina

Thrust 5: SES modeling and control issues and solutions, predictive analytics, data mining
Dehong Xu, Zhejiang U.
Suman Debnath, Oak Ridge National Lab
Martin Ordonez, U. of British Columbia

Thrust 6: SE sources, distributed generation (DG), energy storage (including vehicle-to-grid)
Gerard Hurley, NUI Galway
Ankit Gupta, Raytheon
Madhav Manjrekar, U. of North Carolina