This TC organizes the annual IEEE Workshop on Control and Modeling for Power Electronics (COMPEL). The details of the workshop, such as the general chair, location, date, budget, will be approved by the TC meeting. In general, the workshop is held in June of each year. The location and general chair of the COMPEL workshop will generally be approved in TC's APEC meeting two years earlier and the final budget will be approved in TC's ECCE meeting two years earlier. For example, the location and general chair of COMPEL 2016 will be approved in TC's meeting in APEC 2014 and the budget of COMPEL 2016 will be approved in TC's meeting in ECCE 2014 and then approved in PELS meetings committee meeting in ECCE 2014.

This TC also organizes IEEE International Conference on DC Microgrid (ICDCM).  Our ability to generate, store, and use DC electricity locally without the need for long-range transmission and distribution network enables the possibility for transformational changes in the electricity infrastructure. The use of DC electricity enhances system-wide efficiency. DC grids and microgrids powered by distributed clean energy sources such as solar PV systems can sustainably power the needs of all human beings equitably around the world.



  • COMPEL 2021 is planned for November 2 – November 5.
    Due to the COVID-19 concerns, the event will be held in a completely virtual format.
    Details can be found on the COMPEL 2021 website



2020 - Aalborg, Denmark
2019 – Toronto, Ca
2018 – Padova, Italy
2017 – Stanford, CA, USA
2016 – Trondheim, Norway 
2015 – Vancouver, BC, Canada
2014 – Santander, Spain
2013 – Salt Lake City, UT,USA
2012 – Kyoto, JAPAN
2010 – Boulder, CO, USA
2008 – Zurich, Switzerland
2006 – Troy, NY, USA 
2004 – Urbana, IL, USA
2002 – Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
2000 – Blacksburg, VA, USA
1998 – Cernobbio, Italy
1996 – Portland, OR, USA
1994 – Quebec, Canada
1992 – Berkeley, CA, USA
1990 – Lewisburg, PA, USA
1988 – Cambridge, MA, USA



2021 -  Arlington, VA, USA (Virtual)
2019 – Matsue, Japan Nuremberg, Germany -
2017 – Nuremberg, Germany - 
2015 – Atlanta, Georgia USA-