Call for Papers: WiPDA Asia 2020, Osaka University

WiDPA Asia 2020

 The Workshop on Wide Bandgap Power Devices and Applications in Asia (WiPDA-Asia) is sponsored by IEEE Power Electronic Society, providing a forum for device scientists, circuit designers, and application engineers to share technology updates, research findings, development experience, and application knowledge.




  • Heteroepitaxial and bulk materials growth
  • Gate dielectrics and surface passivation
  • Device structures and fabrication techniques
  • Device characterization and modeling
  • Very high efficiency and compact converters
  • SOAs including short-circuit, spike, and transient tolerance
  • Harsh environment (e.g. high temperature) operation and reliability
  • Packaging, power modules, and ICs
  • Hard-switched and soft-switched applications
  • Common-mode and EMI management
  • Gate drive and other auxiliary circuits
  • High-performance passive components
  • Applications in renewable energy and storage, transportation, industrial drives, and grid power.


Tutorials: Tutorials covering both device and application topics will be offered on May 25th, 2020.

Keynote Sessions: Keynote sessions will be held on May 26th-27th, 2020, in which leading experts from academia, industry, and research institutes will share their insights on technology developments and future trends.

Technical Paper Session: Both oral and poster technical papers will be presented to share the updated research results during May 26th-27th, 2020.

Call for Exhibitions: A number of booths will be available for exhibition.



Two Page Abstract: Feb. 15, 2020

Notification of Acceptance: Mar. 15, 2020

Tutorial Proposal: Feb. 15, 2020

Tutorial Notification: Mar. 15, 2020

Final Paper Submission: April 30, 2020



General Chair

Tsuyoshi Funaki, Osaka university, Japan

General Co-Chair   

Takashi Nakamura, Osaka university, Japan

Technical Program Chair

Alberto Castellazzi, Kyoto university of advanced science, Japan

Technical Program Co-Chair

Takashi Sato, Kyoto University, Japan

Jun-ichi Itoh, Nagaoka University of Technology, Japan

Plenary Sessions Chair

Nobuo Satoh, Chiba institute of technology, Japan

Tutorial Chairs

Masayoshi Yamamoto, Nagoya University, Japan

Local Organizing Committee

Yusuke Mori, Osaka university, Japan

Hideharu Sugihara, Osaka university, Japan

Publications Chair

Tetsuya Hirose, Osaka university, Japan


Takaaki Ibuchi, Osaka university, Japan

Website and Publicity Chair

Michihiro Shintani, Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan