IEEE Power Electronics Society Mentoring Roundtables

You are invited!
Register ​to ​meet ​the ​leaders ​in ​power-electronics ​through ​a ​face-to-face ​mentoring ​event. ​ ​Our ​distinguished ​mentors ​have ​started ​businesses, ​climbed ​the ​ranks ​of ​IEEE, ​become ​high-performers ​at ​corporations and universities. ​
PELS ​members ​will ​get ​a ​rare ​opportunity ​to ​ask ​questions ​and ​get ​professional ​advice ​directly ​from ​mentors ​who ​have ​a ​career’s ​worth ​of ​knowledge ​to ​share. ​


Space is ​limited ​to ​5 ​people ​per ​table ​which ​provides ​a ​casual, ​personal, ​and ​quiet ​atmosphere ​for ​conversation. ​ ​Appetizers, desserts, and beverages will be served. ​


The ​cost ​is ​$10.00 ​per ​person. ​Your ​confirmation ​from ​this ​registration ​will ​be ​your ​ticket ​to ​the ​event. ​ ​


IEEE PELS Mentoring Roundtables at ECCE 2018
Oregon Convention Center
777 NE Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd
Portland, OR
Oregon Ballroom 201
Tuesday Evening
September 25, 2018
5:00 PM – 7:00 PM
See you at ECCE 2018!
Alan Mantooth & Robert Balog - Mentorship Committee Co-Chairs
Zheyu Zhang - Mentorship Event Chair


Mentoring Roundtables Event Registration


Fei (Fred) Wang (University of Tennessee) | Job Transition- Entering, Developing, and Advancing

Professor and Condra Chair of Excellence in Power Electronics at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN, USA. He also holds a joint appointment with Oak Ridge National Lab. Fei (Fred) has over 10 years industry experience in General Electric and 18 years of academia experience first at Virginia Tech, CPES center and then The University of Tennessee, CURENT center. He is an IEEE Fellow and a Fellow of US National Academy of Inventors. He is the recipient of IEEE IAS 2018 Industrial Power Conversion Systems Department Gerald Kliman Innovator Award


Shengyi Liu (Boeing Company) | Job Transition- Entering, Developing, and Advancing

Technical Fellow, Chief Architect of Platform Subsystems Technology at Boeing Company and IEEE Fellow. Before his industry career at Boeing, Dr. Liu was the Research Professor & Graduate Faculty Member from February 1999 to October 2006 at the University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC, USA.


Hui (Helen) Li (Florida State University) | Leadership Development

Helen is a professor in the Florida A&M University-Florida State University College of Engineering. She is an IEEE Fellow and currently holds a position of IEEE PELS Member at Large. She leads power electronics research at Center for Advanced Power Systems (CAPS), Florida State University since 2002. Her research interests include dc-dc converters, multilevel inverters, and PV inverters applying WBG devices. She has led a number of projects in the past to develop solid state transformers and PV converters. Dr. Li is a member of the IEEE Industry Application Society and Power Electronics Society. She received an NSF Career Award in 2007.


Ira Pitel (Magna-Power) | Entrepreneurship

Ira is the founder and current President of Magna-Power Electronics. Ira holds 29 patents in the field of power electronics and is co-recipient of the 1995 Prize Paper Award of the Industry Applications Society. Between 1973 and 1981, he has worked for GTE Sylvania, Bell Laboratories and Exxon Enterprises. His research interests are high power AC-DC converters. Ira is a Fellow of the IEEE.


Brad Lehman (Northeastern University) | How to Write a Prize Paper

Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Northeastern University and previously was a Hearin Hess Distinguished Assistant Professor at Mississippi State University. He is Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics and is the recipient of the 2015 IEEE Power Electronics Society Modeling and Control Technical Achievement Award and an IEEE 2016 Standards Medallion. Brad is the recipient of the 2018 IEEE Award for Achievement in Power Electronics Standards.  Prior to his career as a professor, he served as the Head Coach of the nationally ranked varsity Georgia Institute of Technology swimming and diving team and served as a technical consultant in the design of the 1996 Olympic swimming warm-up pool in Atlanta, GA.


Shu-hung (Henry) Chung (City University of Hong Kong) | How to Write a Prize Paper

Henry is currently Assistant Head and Professor of the Department of Electronic Engineering, and Director of the Centre for Smart Energy Conversion and Utilization Research, City University of Hong Kong. He is a Fellow of IEEE. He is currently Editor-in Chief of the IEEE Power Electronics Letters.


Johann Kolar (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology) | How to Write a Prize Paper

Director, Power Electronic Systems Laboratory, Department of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering (D-ITET), Swiss Federal Institute of Technology. Dr. Kolar has received 11 IEEE Transactions Prize Paper Awards, 15 IEEE Conference Prize Paper Awards, the PCIM Europe Conference Prize Paper Award 2013, the SEMIKRON Innovation Award 2014, the 2014 IEEE Power Electronics Society R. David Middlebrook Achievement Award, and the 2016 IEEE William E. Newell Power Electronics Award. Furthermore, he received the ETH Zurich Golden Owl Award in 2011 and 2017 for Excellence in Teaching and an Erskine Fellowship from the University of Canterbury, New Zealand, in 2003.


Don Tan (Northrop Grumman Aerospace Systems) | How to write a prize paper

Don is known for his dual industry and academia careers. He is a Distinguished Engineer and Senior Staff Manager at Northrop Grumman Aerospace Systems and guest professor of multiple top-tier universities. He is the IEEE Division II Director and past President of Power Electronics Society. He has received more than 30 achievement awards and 24 US and international patents and trade secrets. Don is currently on the slate of candidates for TAB Vice President.


Huai Wang (Aalborg University) | Career Development: Young Professional

Associate Professor at Aalborg University in Denmark. He is Chair of IEEE PELS/IAS/IE Chapter in Denmark, PELS TC6 Award Chair, and 2016 Recipient of Richard M. Bass Outstanding Young Power Electronics Engineer Award. Research areas include: Energy, Renewable Energy, Electronics, Power Electronics, and Reliability of Power Electronics.


Yunwei (Ryan) Li (University of Alberta) | Career Development: Young Professional

Professor Ryan Li is currently a professor at the University of Alberta. Dr. Li has over 15 years of research experience in the area of power electronics and their applications in microgrid, renewable energy and electric drives. He received the PELS Richard Bass Outstanding Young Power Electronics Engineer award in 2013. Professor Li currently Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics and IEEE Journal of Emerging and Selected Topics on Power Electronics. He is also Technical Committee Co-Chair of TC1 Power & Control Core Technologies.