2018 Award Winners

IEEE Power Electronics Society Awards 2018

Congratulations to:

IEEE PELS R. David Middlebrook Achievement Award

Grahame Holmes of Monash University in acknowledgement "for fundamental contributions to the theory and practice of Pulse-Width-Modulation and Current Regulation of Power Converters".


Richard M. Bass Outstanding Young Power Electronics Engineer Award

Xiongfei Wang of Aalborg University in acknowledgment “for research contributions aiming at stability of power systems with power electronic supply"


IEEE PELS Harry A. Owen, Jr. Distinguished Service Award

William Gerard Hurley of National University of Ireland Galway "for dedicated service to IEEE PELS for over thirty years, particularly in international conferences and seminars and the promotion of power electronics to a worldwide audience through lectures and invited talks".


IEEE PELS Award for Achievement in Power Electronics Standards

Brad Lehman of Northeastern University "for outstanding contributions in initiating and leading the IEEE LED lighting standards group (PAR1789) and to IEEE Std 1789-2015-IEEE Recommended Practices for Modulating Current in High-Brightness LEDs for Mitigating Health Risks to Viewers”


IEEE PELS Sustainable Energy Systems Technical Achievement Award

Liuchen Chang of Univesity of New Brunswick "for contributions to innovations in distributed power generation”


Modeling and Control Technical Achievement Award

Charles R. Sullivan of Darmouth College "for contributions to the modeling and analysis of magnetic components for power electronics”