Joseph John Suozzi INTELEC® Fellowship Award in Power Electronics

The IEEE Joseph John Suozzi INTELECÒ Fellowship Award in Power Electronics is a graduate student grant that is named in honor of the late Dr. Joseph John Suozzi, a founder and long-time leader of the IEEE International Telecommunications Energy Conference (INTELECÒ).

Eligibility: The award is made annually to an electrical engineering graduate student that is studying in an area of power electronics.  The fellowship is international and is therefore open to electrical engineering graduate students in all countries.  Applicants must be graduate student members of the IEEE.

Criteria: The award is based on the merit of a proposed study project in power electronics primarily applicable and relevant to the powering of information and communications technology (ICT) energy systems.  The proposed study project must be supported by the Applicant's school and facility advisor and the study is to be undertaken in the year following the award.

Grant: One-time payment of USD 15,000 to an individual (not renewable)

Submitting an Application: Applicants must submit (and with a conventionally accepted text format):

  1. An essay* (not exceeding one page in length, with conventionally accepted text format) that establishes the rationale and technical basis for the proposed project, outlines the method of approach, and explains how the proposed project in power electronics is relevant to the powering of communications systems.
  2. Evidence of student enrollment status at the time of application and during the period that the proposed project would be undertaken.
  3. The Applicant's IEEE Membership number.
  4. A short letter of support (no more than one page) from the Applicant's Faculty Advisor or Study Supervisor confirming support for the proposed study project and attesting to the Applicant's academic capability to undertake the study.  (A transcript of the Applicant's grades should not be submitted.)

*The essay must be on a separate page and MUST NOT contain information (including references) that would allow the reader to identify the Applicant's name, research collaborators, institution, or academic advisor/supervisor.  If the Applicant feels compelled to include references as part of the essay content, the references must be provided on a page separate from the essay page.

The portal to submit applications will open on 1 January 2023.

Please send any questions to the PELS Awards Committee.

2022 Honoree: Hussain Sayed

Hussain Sayed PhotoHussain Sayed received his Bachelor of Science degree from the Electrical Engineering Department, University of Technology-Iraq, and his Master of Science degree from the Systems Engineering Department, University of Arkansas at Little Rock, USA; in 2010 and 2016, respectively. In August 2020, he joined the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, University of Houston, USA, as a Ph.D. Student. From Jan. 2017 to Aug. 2020, he worked as a lecturer and researcher at the EE department, University of Technology-Iraq. Hussain’s Ph.D. research focuses on in-situ examining the underlying elements to enable monitoring of the health status and reliability of individual power converters-based Gallium Nitride power devices used in data centers toward maximizing the converter usage and ensuring data center availability. Additionally, his research interests are in wide-bandgap power semiconductor devices (SiC MOSFETs and GaN FETs) reliability studies for improvement of quality and reliability of power electronics and designing high-density dc-dc power conversion units for mission-critical dc-distribution applications. Hussain is an active member of IEEE PELS, IAS, and TC7. He has several accredited journals and IEEE conference publications. He is the recipient of the IEEE APEC 2022 student travel support as well as the winner of the Technical Session Best Presentation Award. Hussain is also the recipient of the graduate oral presentation award at the 99th Annual Meeting of the Arkansas Academy of Science, in 2015.


Year Recipient Name Affiliation
2021 Rose Abramson University of California, Berkeley (USA)
2017 Enver Candan University of Illinois (USA)
2016 Liyao Wu Georgia Institute of Technology (USA)
2014 Eunice Ribeiro Universidade de Coimbra (Portugal)
2013 Ankan De North Carolina State University (USA)
2012 Hamid Behjati Univeristy of Texas at Arlington (USA)
2011 Alessandro Costabeber University of Padova (Italy)
2009 Omer C. Onar Illinois Institute of Technology (USA)
2008 Jian Lu University of Central Florida (USA)
2007 Tirthajyoti Sarkar University of Illinois at Chicago (USA)
2006 Bradley Oraw Arizona State University (USA)
2005 Alexis Kwasinski University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (USA)
2003 Mehdi Ferdowsi Illinois Institute of Technology (USA)
2002 Peng Li Northeastern University (USA)
2001 Robert Balog University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (USA)