PELS Best Student Branch Award

The Power Electronics Society Best Student Branch Award was established in 2018 to recognize excellent service by a PELS Student Branches – also joint with other societies – to its student members and to the power electronics community.  Prize items include $1000 USD to support activities of the Student Branch, a certificate in the name of the Student Branch Chapter. Reimbursement for travel expenses up to 500 USD to attend the award ceremony at ECCE-NA.  Upon request free entrance to the award ceremony when not registered for the conference.  The award is usually presented at ECCE America every year during the awards ceremony, however, this can be presented at another PELS sponsored conference if desired.

Criteria are substantial chapter accomplishments in fields such as local service to PELS members; chapter meetings with technical, educational or networking contents, including meetings with invited distinguished lecturers from PELS; offering networking opportunities between local industry and academia, between students, young and senior engineers; power electronics related contribution to IEEE activities, such as establishment and promotion of IEEE milestones; essential local support of international IEEE PELS power electronics conferences; visibility e. g. related to high numbers of members and participants in chapter meetings, gain of new PELS members, public relations including website and publications; networking with local societies with a similar scope. 

The IEEE PELS Society Awards Application System submission site will open on 1 January 2021.  If you have any questions, please send them to PELS Awards Committee via   

Past Recipients

2020 IIT Mandi
2019 Universidade Federal de Campina Grande (UFCG)