Sustainable Energy Systems Technical Achievement Award

The IEEE PELS Sustainable Energy Systems Technical Achievement Award is established to recognize and honor individuals who have contributed to sustained and significant scholarly and original technical and scientific contributions towards the advancement of power electronics in sustainable energy systems.  This award is administered by the PELS Technical Committee of Sustainable Energy Systems (TC 5).

Eligibility: Any active IEEE member is eligible to receive this award.  There is no restriction on nationality, age, gender, or IEEE member grade.

Criteria: The criteria established for this award include:

  • contributions of the candidate to power electronics in the field of sustainable energy systems
  • specific intellectual merit of the original contributions and innovations
  • the broader societal impact of the contribution(s) on sustainable energy systems and applications
  • list of related significant publications

Presentation: The award will be presented at a PELS sponsored conference, usually annually at the IEEE International Symposium on Power Electronics for Distributed Generation Systems (PEDG).

Award Items:

  • Engraved plaque
  • Award certificate
  • A one-time honorarium of USD 1,500
  • Reimbursement of up to USD 1,000 towards the recipient's necessary conference registration, travel, and accommodation costs incurred to attend the award ceremony

Submitting a Nominee: When submitting a nominee, you will be asked to log into your existing IEEE account (or register for a new one) to identify as a nominator.  Subsequently, select the IEEE PELS Sustainable Energy Systems Technical Achievement Award and enter the required data and documents.  Please note: an up to five-page curriculum vitae of the nominee will be required along with up to two reference letters that contain the following: name, title, contact data, referee's main field of interest, the relationship between the referee and the nominee, nominee's achievements for the selection criteria indicated in the award description, the reason why the referee personally recommends the nominee, referee's signature, and date.

The portal to submit applications is closed.                                                                                                                

Please send any questions to the PELS Awards Committee  

2023 Honoree: Hua Geng

For contributions to control of renewable energy grid-connected inverters

Hua Geng received the B.S. degree in electrical engineering from Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Wuhan, China, in 2003 and the Ph.D. degree in control theory and application from Tsinghua University, Beijing, China, in 2008. From 2008 to 2010, he was a Postdoctoral Research Fellow with the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Ryerson University, Toronto, ON, Canada. He joined Automation Department of Tsinghua University in June 2010 and is currently a full professor.

His current research interests include power electronic dominated power system, advanced control on power electronics and renewable energy conversion systems. He has authored more than 200 technical publications and holds more than 30 issued Chinese/US patents. He was the recipient of IEEE PELS Sustainable Energy Systems Technical Achievement Award and the second prize of National Science and Technology Progress Award. He is the editors of IEEE Trans. on Energy Conversion and IEEE Trans. on Sustainable Energy, associate editors of IEEE Trans. on Industry Applications, IET Renewable Power Generation, Control Engineering Practice. He served as general chair of 2022 4th International Conference on Smart Power & Internet Energy Systems (SPIES 2022), general co-chair, track chairs and session chairs of several other IEEE conferences. He is an IEEE Fellow and an IET Fellow, convener of the modeling working group in IEC SC 8A, Standing Director of China Power Supply Society (CPSS). 


Year Recipient Name Reason
2022 Xinbo Ruan For contributions to the control of renewable energy grid-connected inverters
2021 Wei Qiao For contributions to condition monitoring and control of power electronics interfaced sustainable energy systems
2020 Pedro Rodriquez For contribution to the Control of Grid Interactive Renewable Energy Systems
2019 Xiongfei Wang For contributions to the stability and control of power converters for renewable energy systems
2018 Liuchen Chang For contributions to innovations in distributed power generation
2017 Marco Liserre For contributions to control of energy systems in the power grid