Vehicle and Transportation Systems Achievement Award

The IEEE PELS Vehicle and Transportation Systems Achievement Award is established to recognize innovators and researchers who have made outstanding technical contributions to the advancement of power electronics in-vehicle and transportation systems.  The award may not be given more frequently than annually, nor does it need to be given every year (e.g., the award will only be given in years when a suitable candidate is selected based upon meeting all the eligibility and selection requirements).  This award is administrated by the PELS Technical Committee of Electrified Transportation Systems (TC 4).

Eligibility: Any active IEEE member is eligible to receive this award.  There is no restriction on nationality, age, gender, or IEEE member grade.  The award is not to be made to a company.

Criteria: The criteria considered by the Award Committee include:

  • the quality of technical achievement and contribution to the field
  • advancement of the technology
  • sustained impact on the relevant technical community and the profession
  • the benefit to society
  • the quality of the nomination

Presentation: If an award is given, it will be presented once a year at the IEEE Transportation Electrification Conference and Expo (ITEC).

Award Items:

  • Award plaque
  • A one-time honorarium of USD 1,500
  • Reimbursement of up to USD 1,000 towards the recipient's necessary conference registration, travel, and accommodation costs incurred to attend the award ceremony

Submitting a Nominee: When submitting a nominee, you will be asked to log into your existing IEEE account (or register for a new one) to identify as a nominator.  Subsequently, select the IEEE PELS Vehicle and Transportation Systems Achievement Award and enter the required data and documents.  Please note: an up to five-page curriculum vitae of the nominee will be required along with up to two reference letters that contain the following: name, title, contact data, referee's main field of interest, the relationship between the referee and the nominee, nominee's achievements for the selection criteria indicated in the award description, the reason why the referee personally recommends the nominee, referee's signature, and date.

The portal to submit applications is closed                                                                                                            

Please send any questions to the PELS Awards Committee  


2023 Honoree: Chunting Chris Mi 

chris miFor contributions to the advancement of battery management systems and of electric vehicle charging

Chris Mi received his B.S. and M.S. degrees from Northwestern Polytechnical University, Xi’an, China, and Ph. D. from the University of Toronto, Canada, in 1985, 1988, and 2001, respectively, all in electrical engineering. He is a Fellow of IEEE and SAE, and a Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at San Diego State University. He was previously a faculty member at the University of Michigan-Dearborn from 2001 to 2015, and an Electrical Engineer with General Electric from 2000 to 2001. He also served as the CTO of 1Power Solutions from 2008 to 2011, and CTO of EV Safe Charger from 2021 to 2022. 


Dr. Mi has published five books, 210 journal papers, 130 conference papers, and owns 20 patents. He served as Area Editor, Guest-Editor-in-Chief, and Associate Editor of multiple IEEE Transactions, as well as the General Chair or Program Chair multiple IEEE international conferences. Dr. Mi has won numerous awards, including the “Distinguished Teaching Award” and “Distinguished Research Award” from the University of Michigan-Dearborn, IEEE Region 4 “Outstanding Engineer Award,” IEEE Southeastern Michigan Section “Outstanding Professional Award,” and SAE “Environmental Excellence in Transportation (E2T) Award.” He is the recipient of three Best Paper Awards from IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics and the 2019 Inaugural IEEE Power Electronics Emerging Technology Award. In 2022, he received the Albert W. Johnson Award and was named the Distinguished Professor by San Diego State University, the highest honor given to a SDSU faculty member and only one award is given each year.



Year Recipient Name Reason
2022 Alireza Khaligh For advancement of power electronics for electrified transportation systems including electric vehicles and more electric aircraft
2021 G. Abas Goodarzi  For contributions to the advancement of Electric Powertrains for Medium and Heavy-Duty Vehicles
2020 Burak Ozpineci For contributions to the advancement of power electronics in transportation electrification and wireless charging of electric vehicles
2019 Kaushik Rajashekara For contributions to the advancement of power conversion and propulsion systems for electrification of land and air transportation