Modeling and Control Technical Achievement Award

The IEEE Modeling and Control Technical Achievement Award is established to honor innovators and researchers who have made outstanding and sustained technical contributions to the advancement of power electronics in modeling and control.  This award is administrated by the PELS Technical Committee on Control and Modeling of Power Electronics (TC 1).

Award Items:

  • Engraved plaque
  • A one-time honorarium of USD 1,500
  • Reimbursement of up to USD 1,000 towards the recipient's necessary conference registration, travel, and accommodation costs incurred to attend the award ceremony

Submitting a Nominee: When submitting a nominee, you will be asked to log into your existing IEEE account (or register for a new one) to identify as a nominator.  Subsequently, select the IEEE Modeling and Control Technical Achievement Award and enter the required data and documents.  Please note: up to two endorsement letters can be submitted and must contain the following: name, title, contact data, endorser's main field of interest, the relationship between the endorser and the nominee, nominee's achievements for the selection criteria indicated in the award description, the reason why the endorser personally recommends the nominee, endorser's signature, and date.

The portal to submit applications is now open.  Please submit your nomination by 31 March 2023.                                                                                                                 

Please send any questions to the PELS Awards Committee  

Submit a Nomination

2022 Honoree:

TGeyer 2022 small

Tobias Geyer

For contributions to predictive control and modulation of high-power converters

Tobias Geyer (Fellow, IEEE, 2022) received the Dipl.-Ing. degree in electrical engineering, the Ph.D. in control engineering and the Habilitation degree in power electronics from ETH Zurich in the years 2000, 2005 and 2017, respectively.

After his Ph.D., he spent three years at GE Global Research, Germany, three years at the University of Auckland, New Zealand, and eight years at ABB’s Corporate Research Centre, Switzerland. In 2020, he joined ABB’s Medium-Voltage Drive division as R&D platform manager of the ACS6080. Working at the intersection of industry and academia he is also an extraordinary Professor at Stellenbosch University, South Africa.

He is the author of 35 patent families and the book “Model predictive control of high power converters and industrial drives” (Wiley, 2016). He teaches a regular course on model predictive control at ETH Zurich. His research interests include medium-voltage and low-voltage drives, utility-scale power converters, optimized pulse patterns and model predictive control.


Dr. Geyer received the Semikron Innovation Award and the Nagamori Award, both in 2021. He also received two Prize Paper Awards of IEEE transactions and two Prize Paper Awards at IEEE conferences. He is a former Associate Editor of the Transactions on Industry Applications (from 2011 until 2014) and the Transactions on Power Electronics (from 2013 until 2019). He was an International Program Committee Vice-Chair of the IFAC conference on Nonlinear Model Predictive Control in Madison, WI, USA, in 2018. Dr. Geyer is a Distinguished Lecturer of the Power Electronics Society from the year 2020 until 2023.

Year Recipient Name Reason
2020 Lennart Harnefors For contributions to Control and Dynamic Analysis of Power Electronic Systems
2019 Alan Mantooth For contributions to the modeling of power semiconductor devices
2018 Charles Sullivan For contributions to the modeling and analysis of magnetic components for power electronics
2017 Yan-Fei Liu For contributions in modeling of current programming control and digital control strategies
2016 Paolo Mattavelli For his contributions to dynamic phasor modeling of FACTS devices, to control techniques in active filters, and to digital control in power conversion systems
2015 Brad Lehman For his contribution in modeling and control of dc-dc converters and solid-state lighting
2014 Seth Sanders For his contribution in averaged modeling and digital control of switched-mode power converters
2013 Jian Sun
2012 Dragan Maksimovic For his contribution in digital control of high switching frequency power supplies