IEEE Power Electronics Society Prize Letter Award

Beginning in 2007, the Letters Editor and Associate Editors of the IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics recognize one paper deemed best among those published in the Transactions during the preceding calendar year. The established Transactions review criteria are used as the basis for the Prize Letter selection. Specific emphasis is placed on originality; contribution to the field; the extent to which the paper is supported by analysis and experimental evidence; and the quality of presentation, including the effective use of illustrations. A particular emphasis is placed on contributions with high value for rapid publication. In addition to a certificate presented to each author, an award of $1,000 USD is shared equally among the paper’s authors.

2020 Prize Letter Award

2020 Ramanuja Panigrahi, Santanu K. Mishra, Avinash Joshi, and Khai D. T. Ngo           DC-DC Converter Synthesis: An Inverse Problem

Past Winners

2019 Saleh Kargarrazi, Hossein Elahipanah, Stefano Saggini, Debbie Senesky, Carl-Mikael Zetterling 500 ◦C SiC PWM Integrated Circuit
2018 Fei Lu, Hua Zhang, and Chunting Chris Mi A Two-Plate Capacitive Wireless Power Transfer System for Electric Vehicle Charging Applications
2017 Kazunori Hasegawa, Satoru Takahara, Shoji Tabata, Masanori Tsukuda, and Ichiro Omura A New Output Current Measurement Method With Tiny PCB Sensors Capable of Being Embedded in an IGBT Module
2016 Wenkang Huang and Brad Lehman A Compact Coupled Inductor for Interleaved Multiphase DC–DC Converters

Fei Lu, Hua Zhang, Heath Hofmann, and Chunting Chris Mi

A Double-Sided LCLC-Compensated Capacitive Power Transfer System for Electric Vehicle Charging

Ignacio Lope, Claudio Carretero, Jesus Acero, Rafael Alonso, and Jose M. Burdio

AC Power Losses Model for Planar Windings With Rectangular Cross-Sectional Conductors
2013 Braham Ferreira The Multilevel Modular DC Converter
2012 Pedro. Rodriguez, Maria Dias Bellar, Raul Santiago Munoz-Aguilar, Sergio Busquets-Monge, and Frede Blaabjerg Multilevel-Clamped Multilevel Converters (MLC2)
2011 Mauricio Cespedes, Lei Xing, and Jian Sun Constant-Power Load System Stabilization by Passive Damping
2010 Ludovic M´enager, Maher Soueidan, Bruno Allard, Vincent Bley, and Benoˆıt Schlegel
A Lab-Scale Alternative Interconnection Solution of Semiconductor Dice
Compatible with Power Modules 3-D Integration


2009 Jeffrey Morroni, Regan Zane, Dragan Maksimovic Design and Implementation of an Adaptive Tuning System Based on Desired Phase Margin for Digitally Controlled  DC-DC Converters
2008 Miao Zhu, Fang Lin Luo, and Yi He Remaining Inductor Current Phenomena of Complex DC–DC Converters in Discontinuous Conduction Mode: General Concepts and Case Study