IEEE PELS Sustainable Energy Systems Technical Achievement Award

The Sustainable Energy Systems (SES) Technical Achievement Award of the IEEE Power Electronics Society (PELS) has been established to recognize and honor individuals who have contributed with sustained and significantly scholar and original technical and scientific contributions towards the advancement of power electronics in the area of sustainable energy systems.

The award will be presented at a PELS sponsored conference, usually anually at the IEEE International Symposium on Power Electronics for Distributed Generation Systems (PEDG); the recipient will receive a one-time honorarium of 1500USD, an engraving of suitable plaque, and an award certificate.

The criteria established for this award include:
• contributions of the candidate to power electronics in the field of sustainable energy systems
• specific intellectual merit of the original contributions and innovations;
• broader societal impact of the of the contribution(s) on sustainable energy systems and applications
• list of related significant publications

If you would like to nominate an IEEE member for the IEEE PELS Sustainable Energy Systems Technical Achievement Award, please go to our 
IEEE Society Awards Application SystemTo identify as nominator, you will be asked in the beginning of this process to log in your existing IEEE account or to register for a new one. Subsequently you should choose IEEE PELS Sustainable Energy Systems Technical Achievement Award and enter the required data and documents. Please note that an up to five page curriculum vitae of the nominee will be required along with up to two reference letters, containing the following: Name, title, contact data, main field of interest of the referee, relationship between the referee and the nominee, achievements of the nominee with respect to the selection criteria indicated in the award description, the reason why the referee personally recommends the nominee for the award, signature of the referee and date.

Nominations received up to March 31st will be considered in the current year. The award is administrated by the IEEE PELS Technical Committee (TC) of Sustainable Energy Systems. If you have any questions please send them to PELS Awards Committee via


Past Winners

2019 - Xiongfei Wang
2018 - Liuchen Chang
2017- Marco Liserre