IEEE PELS R. David Middlebrook Achievement Award

The IEEE PELS R. David Middlebrook Achievement Award was established in 2011 to honor an individual who is judged to have accomplished outstanding contribution in the technical field of power electronics, within one or more subfields such as modeling & control, design-oriented analysis, development, simulation and application of electronic devices, passive components, analog sensing, and power circuits for inverters, converters and motor drives in all power levels. This award is usually presented at ECCE America every year during the Awards Ceremony.

The award may recognize a single significant contribution such as a seminal paper or analysis method, or a series of accomplishments that together represent outstanding technical contributions. 

The recipient of the award will receive a bronze medal, a certificate, and an honorarium of $5,000 USD.  Complimentary registration for the conference to accept the award, paid for by PELS upon request. 

The awards submission site is now closed. Submissions for the 2022 Awards cycle will start on 1 January 2022. If you have any questions, please send them to PELS Awards Committee via


Past Recipients

2021 Shu-Hung Henry Chung

For Energy Utilization Technologies for Smart Cities

2020 Alex Qin Huang For development of Silicon and Wide Band Gap Power Electronics Technology
2019 Issa Batarseh For contributions to power electronics conversion and application to photovoltaic (PV) generation
2018 Grahame Holmes For fundamental contributions to the theory an dpractice of Pulse-Width-Modulation and Current Regulation of Power Converters
2017 Jian Sun

For contributions to modeling and control of power electronic converters and systems

2016 Mark Dehong Xu

For leadership and contributions to power electronics technology in
renewable energy systems and energy efficiency 

2015 David J. Perreault

For outstanding contributions to the design, analysis, and construction of high performance power electronics circuits

2014 Johann Kolar For circuit innovation, modeling, control, and multi-objective optimization of power electronic converters
2013 William Gerard Hurley For contributions to high frequency magnetic design, modeling of magnetic components and analysis of planar magnetic devices for power electronic applications 
2012 Prasad Enjeti