IEEE PELS Harry A. Owen, Jr. Distinguished Service Award

The IEEE PELS Harry A. Owen, Jr. Distinguished Service Award was established in 1996 to honor long and distinguished service to the welfare of the Power Electronics Society at an exceptional level of dedication and achievement.  The prize consists of an engraved plaque and a cash award of $3,500 USD.  All members of the Power Electronics Society are eligible.  Achievements by which an individual is judged to have made outstanding contributions to the Power Electonics Society encompass a broad range of activities over a substantial time period including, but not limited to, creative and invigorating leadership of the Society; exceptional administrative and managerial accomplishments on behalf of the Society; identification of new technologies within the scope of the Society, and nurturing activities to support these emerging technologies; initiation of innovative programs to encourage wider participation in the full spectrum of Society activities, and the general communication and advocacy of power electronics technology to the technical community as a whole.

In 2011 the Distinguised Service Award was renamed the Harry A. Owen Distinguished Service Award.

The IEEE PELS Society Awards Application System submission site is now closed.  If you have questions. please send them to PELS Awards Committee via   


Past Recipients
2019- Brad Lehman 2007- Thomas M. Jahns
2018 - William Gerard Hurley 2006- Jacobus Daniel van Wyk
2017- Dong Tan 2005- Christopher O. Riddleberger
2016- Dushan Boroyevich

2004- Arthur W. Kelley

2015- Jerry L. Hudgins

2003- Koosuke Harada

2014- Rik De Doncker

2002- Robert V. White

2013- Ralph Kennel

2001— William M. Portnoy

2012- Thomas Habetler

2000— Richard G. Hoft

2011-  No Award Given

1999— Thomas G. Wilson, Sr.

2010- John M. Miller

1998— John G. Kassakian

2009- Frede Blaaberg

1997— Harry A. Owen, Jr.

2008- Philip T. Krein