Richard M. Bass Outstanding Young Power Electronics Engineer Award

The Richard M. Bass Outstanding Young Power Electronics Engineer Award recognizes outstanding achievement in the field of power electronics by an engineer less than 35 years of age.  Since 1999, it is dedicated to the memory of Richard M. Bass of the Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta, Georgia, USA.

Eligibility: All IEEE members of any grade, in the field of power electronics, and less than 35 years of age as of 1 January of the year of the award, are eligible (applicants born after 1 January 1988).

Criteria: Candidates are judged for outstanding contributions encompassing a broad range of technical activities including research, innovative product design and application, teaching, and project leadership.  The technical disciplines in the field of power electronics include the analysis, design, development, simulation, and practical application of electronic drives, magnetics, controls, and power circuits for inverters, converters, and motor drives ranging in power level from fractions of a watt to megawatts.

Award Items:

  • Certificate
  • A one-time honorarium of USD 1,500
  • Reimbursement of up to USD 1,000 towards the recipient's necessary conference registration, travel, and accommodation costs incurred to attend the award ceremony

Submitting a Nominee: When submitting a nominee, you will be asked to log into your existing IEEE account (or register for a new one) to identify as a nominator.  Subsequently, select the Richard M. Bass Outstanding Young Power Electronics Engineer Award and enter the required data.

The portal to submit applications is now open.  Please submit your nomination by 31 March 2023.                                                                                                                 

Please send any questions to the PELS Awards Committee  

Submit a Nomination 

Daniel Costinett

2022 Honoree: Daniel Costinett

For innovations in high-density power converters employing WBG devices


Daniel Costinett (Senior Member, IEEE) received his Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from the University of Colorado Boulder in 2013.  He was an instructor at Utah State University in 2013.  Since 2013, he has been with the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville (UTK), where he is currently an Associate Professor.  Dr. Costinett is Co-Director of Education and Diversity for the National Science Foundation/Department of Energy Engineering Research Center for Ultra-wide-area Resilient Electric Energy Transmission Networks (CURENT).  He has co-authored more than 150 peer-reviewed publications.  His research interests include resonant and soft-switching power converter design, high-efficiency wired and wireless power supplies, on-chip power conversion, medical devices, and electric vehicles.

Dr. Costinett was a recipient of the National Science Foundation CAREER Award in 2017, the 2016 and 2020 IEEE PELS Transactions Second Place Prize Paper Award, and the 2015 IEEE IAS William M. Portnoy Award.  He received the 2022 Moses E. and Mayme Brooks Distinguished Professor Award, 2015 ECE Faculty of the Year Award, and 2020 Chancellor's Award for Professional Promise in Research from UTK.  He currently serves as an Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics (TPEL) and IEEE Journal of Emerging and Selected Topics in Power Electronics (JESTPE).

Year Recipient Name Reason
2021 Yongheng Yang For contributions to the design and control of grid-friendly solar photovoltaic systems
2020 Pradeep Shenoy For contributions to high density and high-efficiency DC-DC conversion systems
2019 Katherine Kim For contributions to differential power processing converter techniques for voltaic applications
2018 Xiongfei Wang For research contribution aiming at the stability of power systems with power electronic supply
2017 Ali Davoudi For contributions to the modeling and simulation of power electronics and microgrids
2016 Huai Wang For his contribution to the reliability of power electronic conversion systems
2015 Zixin Li For contributions to multilevel and voltage-source HVDC converters
2014 Robert Pilawa-Podgurski For innovations in the design and application of miniaturized high-performance dc-dc converters
2013 Yunwei (Ryan) Li For contributions to the control of power electronics in renewable energy systems, micro-grids, and electric drives
2012 Samir Kouro
2011 Jin Wang
2010 Maryam Saeedifard
2009 Rangarajan Tallam
2008 Regan Zane
2007 Christian Klumpner
2006 Patrick Chapman
2005 Ali Emadi
2004 Philip Carne Kajaer
2003 Babak Fahimi
2002 Pallab Midya
2001 David J. Perreault
2000 Jose A. Cobos
1999 Steven B. Leeb
1998 Frede Blaabjerg
1997 Vlako Vlatkovic

Andreas Lindermann 2022 Portrait
Awards Chair

Universitaet Magdeburg (Germany)