Suozzi INTELEC® Fellowship Award

Graduate Student $15,000 Grant

The INTELEC Executive Committee (IEC) sponsors the Joseph J. Suozzi Fellowship in Power Electronics. The fellowship is named in honor of the late Dr. Joseph John Suozzi, a founder and long-time leader of INTELEC.  This grant of $15,000 is made to an electrical engineering graduate student studying in an area of power electronics that powers information and communication technology systems.  Such systems include Wireline and Wireless Systems, Data/Internet Systems, Video Systems, Satellite communications, Community Antennae Television (CATV), Voice Over Internet Protocol (VOIP) Systems, Unified Communications, Wireless Internet Networks (Wi-Fi), Data Centers, Energy Storage, Smart Grid, etc.  This scope includes the research, sustainability, fundamental development, design, application and management of communications energy and related systems.

This fellowship is international and is therefore open to electrical engineering graduate students in all countries. The applicant must be a member of IEEE and must furnish his/her IEEE membership number with the application. The award is a one-time grant to an individual and is not renewable.

Interested electrical engineering graduate students shall submit:

  • An essay not exceeding one page in length that explains how his/her proposed project can be applied to powering of communications systems.
  • A transcript of his/her grades.
  • Evidence of student enrollment status at time of application and during the period the proposed project would be undertaken
  • A letter of support from his/her Faculty Advisor.
  • You IEEE Membership Number

If you would like to apply for the Suozzi Fellowship Award, please fill out the Application Form and submit it no later than March 31.  If you have any questions please send your requests to

IEEE PELS Awards Committee
445 Hoes Lane
Piscataway, NJ USA 08855
Attn:  Andreas Lindemann, Chairman
Copy to:  Donna Florek, Technical Community Program Specialist
Phone:  USA +732-465-6480


Past Recipients

2015- No Award

2014- Eunice Ribeiro, Universidade de Coimbra, Portugal

2013 - Ankan De, North Carolina State University

2012 - Hamid Behjati, Univeristy of Texas at Arlington, USA

2011  – Alessandro Costabeber, University of Padova, Italy

2010  – No Award

2009  – Omer C. Onar, Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago, Illinois, USA

2008 – Jian Lu, University of Central Florida, USA

2007 – Tirthajyoti Sarkar, University of Illinois at Chicago, Chicago, Illinois, USA

2006 – Bradley Oraw, Arizona State University, Tempe, Arizona, USA

2005 – Alexis Kwasinski, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Illinois, USA

2004 – No Award

2003 –Mehdi Ferdowsi, Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago, Illinois, USA

2002 – Peng Li, Northeastern University, Boston, Massachusetts, USA

2001 – Robert Balog, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Illinois, USA